Find out more about our subscriptions

Barbagallo V8 Supercars: Jamie Whincup wins tense race two

Jamie Whincup,Triple 8 Holden, leads Barbagallo V8 Supercars raceJamie Whincup held off a fast-closing Jason Bright to take victory in race two of V8 Supercars' Barbagallo weekend.

Bright had qualified on pole in his Brad Jones Holden, but made a poor start and fell to fourth, as Will Davison, Fabian Coulthard and Whincup hit the front.

The lead pack ran in a long, tense train in the first half of the race, with Coulthard taking plenty of looks at passing Davison.

With tyre wear high but stops optional, pit timing proved critical, and it was Triple 8 that made the correct call by bringing Whincup in first.

The champion dived in on lap 17 of 42, with Ford Performance Racing's Mark Winterbottom following.

Davison and Coulthard pitted next time, but emerged behind Whincup and Winterbottom, who had flown on fresh tyres.

Bright stayed out until lap 23, in the hope that he would benefit from fresher rubber as his rivals' tyres faded in the closing laps.

That certainly proved to be the case. Although the late stop had dropped him down the order, Bright overtook James Courtney, Davison and Coulthard before a door-banging move on Winterbottom three laps from the end brought him up to second.

Jamie Whincup wins Barbagallo V8 Supercars race 2013He then set off after Whincup, falling just 0.7 seconds short.

Winterbottom held on for third, followed by Coulthard, Davison and Courtney.

After breaking V8 Supercars' victory record on Saturday, Craig Lowndes had to settle for eighth, behind Shane van Gisbergen, having lost ground with a slow pitstop.

All bar three drivers chose to make tyre changes. Of those who did not, Dean Fiore fared best and found himself leading by 12s at one point.

He held on at the front until just seven laps from the end, before being swallowed by the pack and falling to 13th.

Results - 42 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                      Time/Gap
 1.  Jamie Whincup        Triple 8 Holden            43m38.5140s
 2.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden            + 0.7530s
 3.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford                     + 2.8806s
 4.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden            + 4.4059s
 5.  Will Davison         FPR Ford                     + 4.8087s
 6.  James Courtney       HRT Holden                   + 6.5776s
 7.  Shane van Gisbergen  Tekno Holden                + 11.0971s
 8.  Craig Lowndes        Triple 8 Holden             + 14.5113s
 9.  Alex Davison         Schwerkolt/FPR Ford         + 15.0612s
10.  James Moffat         Nissan                      + 15.4723s
11.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden                  + 15.9098s
12.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford           + 16.6466s
13.  Dean Fiore           Dumbrell Holden             + 18.4623s
14.  Scott McLaughlin     GRM Holden                  + 19.5329s
15.  Chaz Mostert         Dick Johnson Ford           + 19.8547s
16.  Rick Kelly           Nissan                      + 20.5105s
17.  Todd Kelly           Nissan                      + 22.6374s
18.  Tony D'Alberto       D'Alberto Holden            + 26.2194s
19.  Alexandre Premat     GRM Holden                  + 28.1755s
20.  Tim Blanchard        Dick Johnson Ford           + 28.6486s
21.  Russell Ingall       Walkinshaw/HRT Holden       + 30.7528s
22.  Jonathon Webb        Tekno Holden                + 31.4285s
23.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/Erebus Mercedes   + 31.4985s
24.  David Wall           Britek/BJR Holden           + 33.6898s
25.  Michael Caruso       Nissan                      + 33.9248s
26.  Maro Engel           Erebus Mercedes             + 36.8688s
27.  Scott Pye            Dumbrell Holden                + 1 lap


     Lee Holdsworth       Erebus Mercedes                 0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Whincup doubles up in race three
Lowndes takes record victory