Find out more about our subscriptions

Silverstone European F3: Rosenqvist quickest in practice

Rosenqvist tops Silverstone practiceFelix Rosenqvist topped practice for round two of the Formula 3 European Championship at Silverstone on Friday morning.

The Swede hauled his Mucke Motorsport Dallara Mercedes to the head of the timesheets right at the end of a drying second session with a time of 2m10.632s to knock Double R's Antonio Giovinazzi off the top spot.

The order changed constantly during the latter stages of the second session as parts of the track began to dry out more than others, Rosenqvist's time eventually 0.090s quicker than Giovinazzi's.

Rosenqvist's team-mate Michael Lewis, who only joined Mucke earlier this week, was third while Carlin team-mates Harry Tincknell and Jordan King sandwiched championship leader Raffaele Marciello (Prema) in fifth.

Marciello had been fastest in an all-wet first session, despite a trip off the track at Maggotts. His best time in that session was 1.3s slower than Rosenqvist's overall pace.

Marciello and his Prema team-mates Alex Lynn, Eddie Cheever and Lucas Auer were among many drivers who limited their mileage as the track improved, preferring to save their allocation of wet tyres in anticipation of more rain in qualifying and the races.

Will Buller, 24th fastest, lost valuable mileage due to a slipping clutch on his T-Sport Dallara-Nissan.

Red flags brought an early end to proceedings, Lucas Wolf having spun his URD car exiting Stowe and come to rest at 90 degrees to the circuit right in front of the pit entrance.

Combined practice times:

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                    Time       Gap
 1.  Felix Rosenqvist     Mucke Dallara-Merc          2m10.632s
 2.  Antonio Giovinazzi   Double R Dallara-Merc       2m10.722s  + 0.090s
 3.  Michael Lewis        Mucke Dallara-Merc          2m10.796s  + 0.164s
 4.  Harry Tincknell	 Carlin Dallara-VW            2m11.001s  + 0.369s
 5.  Raffaele Marciello   Prema Dallara-Merc          2m11.162s  + 0.530s
 6.  Jordan King          Carlin Dallara-VW           2m11.259s  + 0.627s
 7.  Eddie Cheever        Prema Dallara-Merc          2m11.295s  + 0.663s
 8.  Sven Muller          Ma-con Dallara-VW           2m11.417s  + 0.785s
 9.  Pipo Derani          Fortec Dallara-Merc         2m11.678s  + 1.046s
10.  Josh Hill	          Fortec Dallara-Merc         2m11.753s  + 1.121s
11.  Jann Mardenborough   Carlin Dallara-VW           2m11.957s  + 1.335s
12.  Mans Grenhagen       Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW   2m12.004s  + 1.372s
13.  Lucas Wolf       	  URD Dallara-Merc            2m12.054s  + 1.422s
14.  Tom Blomqvist        EuroIntern'l Dallara-Merc   2m12.071s  + 1.439s
15.  Felix Serralles	  Fortec Dallara-Merc         2m12.206s  + 1.574s
16.  Lucas Auer           Prema Dallara-Merc          2m12.225s  + 1.623s
17.  Nicholas Latifi	  Carlin Dallara-VW           2m12.272s  + 1.640s
18.  Mitchell Gilbert     Mucke Dallara-Merc          2m12.433s  + 1.801s
19.  Alex Lynn            Prema Dallara-Merc          2m12.577s  + 1.945s
20.  Roy Nissany          Mucke Dallara-Merc          2m12.765s  + 2.133s
21.  Dennis van de Laar   Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW   2m12.857s  + 2.225s
22.  Andre Rudersdorf     Ma-con Dallara-VW           2m13.466s  + 2.834s
23.  Sean Gelael	  Double R Dallara-Merc       2m14.310s  + 3.678s
24.  Will Buller          T-Sport Dallara-Nissan      2m14.455s  + 3.823s
25.  Gary Thompson    	  Ferraris Dallara-Merc       2m15.275s  + 4.643s
26.  Tatiana Calderon	  Double R Dallara-Merc       2m15.956s  + 5.324s
27.  Spike Goddard        T-Sport Dallara-Nissan      2m16.180s  + 5.548s
28.  Sandro Zeller    	  Zeller Dallara-Merc         2m17.554s  + 6.922s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT