Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 60 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 60 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Marrakech WTCC: Pepe Oriola becomes youngest ever winner

Pepe Oriola wins Marrakech WTCC race 2013Pepe Oriola became the youngest winner in the history of the World Touring Car Championship with a hard-fought victory in the Marrakech finale.

The 18-year-old Spaniard had jumped poleman Fernando Monje to lead away from the start, but soon came under heavy pressure from the RML Chevrolets of Yvan Muller and Tom Chilton.

Forced onto the defensive, Oriola backed up the two Cruzes into the chasing pack, with the top seven covered by just three seconds at mid-distance.

Despite repeated attacks Oriola continued to resist Muller until finally earning a reprieve when Gabriele Tarquini and Alex MacDowall collided on lap eight, bringing out the safety car.

The duo had been at the tail-end of the lead fight when Tarquini took too much kerb at Turn 10, jumping him across the track and straight into the path of MacDowall.

By the time the accident was cleared there was time for one final lap, but Oriola once again withstood everything Muller could muster. His winning margin was just 0.430 seconds in the Tuenti SEAT.

Chilton, who had one lairy moment looking down the inside of Muller, followed his team-mate home in third.

James Nash sealed fourth after a close battle with Marc Basseng, the only Munnich SEAT to make it to the finish.

Basseng's team-mate and defending champion Rob Huff had snatched third away from the line, but an attempted dive down the inside of poleman Monje at the final hairpin resulted in contact with the wall and damaged steering.

Huff was effectively out on the spot, while Monje was severely delayed and dropped to 11th, just behind Lada's James Thompson.

That lasted for less than one lap, as Monje then ploughed into Thompson's Granta at the penultimate chicane on the second lap. The incident is under investigation.

Those accidents lifted Tom Coronel into sixth, just ahead of race one winner Michel Nykjaer.

Results - 13 laps:

Pos  Driver              Team/Car            Time/Gap
 1.  Pepe Oriola         Tuenti SEAT       28m08.751s
 2.  Yvan Muller         RML Chevrolet       + 0.430s
 3.  Tom Chilton         RML Chevrolet       + 0.677s
 4.  James Nash          Bamboo Chevrolet    + 0.948s
 5.  Marc Basseng        Munnich SEAT        + 1.808s
 6.  Tom Coronel         ROAL BMW            + 2.028s
 7.  Michel Nykjaer      Nika Chevrolet      + 2.326s
 8.  Franz Engstler      Engstler BMW        + 4.377s
 9.  Darryl O'Young      ROAL BMW            + 4.889s
10.  Charles Ng          Engstler BMW        + 6.273s
11.  Mehdi Bennani       Proteam BMW         + 6.349s
12.  Fredy Barth         Wiechers BMW        + 6.385s
13.  Mikhail Kozlovskiy  Lada                + 7.037s
14.  Stefano D'Aste      PB BMW              + 7.698s


     Norbert Michelisz   Zengo Honda           9 laps
     Gabriele Tarquini   Honda                 7 laps
     Alex MacDowall      Bamboo Chevrolet      7 laps
     Rene Munnich        Munnich SEAT          3 laps
     Rob Huff            Munnich SEAT           1 lap
     James Thompson      Lada                   1 lap
     Fernando Monje      Campos SEAT            1 lap
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Nykjaer takes maiden WTCC victory
Boardman ruled out after crash
Tarquini earns Honda maiden pole
Muller on top in Marrakech practice