Find out more about our subscriptions

IndyCar St Petersburg: Ryan Hunter-Reay tops first practice

Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Dallara IndyCar Barber test 2013

Ryan Hunter-Reay began his IndyCar title defence by going fastest in the opening practice session for this weekend's season-opener at St Petersburg.

Hunter-Reay moved to the top of the charts midway through the session with a best lap of 1m02.4534s, bettering the benchmark 1m02.6041s that had earlier been set by Will Power.

James Hinchliffe also beat Power's time to make it an Andretti Autosport one-two with a lap 0.0010s off Hunter-Reay's time.

Power also improved upon his earlier lap, with his best effort of 1m02.5464s leaving him in third place just ahead of EJ Viso, thus denying the Andretti team a lock-out of the top three positions.

KV Racing had an encouraging start to the weekend with Tony Kanaan and Simona de Silvestro finishing the morning fifth and seventh-fastest respectively, the pair book-ending Dario Franchitti, who posted the quickest time by a Honda-powered driver.

Josef Newgarden, Sebastien Bourdais and Marco Andretti rounded out the top 10.

Tristan Vautier's first session as an IndyCar driver ended with the Frenchman posting the 13th-fastest lap, putting him just ahead of Scott Dixon, who endured an early spin and then struggled with what he described as "issues with a lot of different things".

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                   Time        Gap
 1.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti Dallara-Chevy     1m02.4534s
 2.  James Hinchcliffe    Andretti Dallara-Chevy     1m02.4544s  + 0.0010s
 3.  Will Power           Penske Dallara-Chevy       1m02.5464s  + 0.0930s
 4.  EJ Viso              Andretti Dallara-Chevy     1m02.5759s  + 0.1225s
 5.  Tony Kanaan          KV Dallara-Chevy           1m02.6114s  + 0.1580s
 6.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi Dallara-Honda      1m02.6823s  + 0.2289s
 7.  Simona de Silvestro  KV Dallara-Chevy           1m02.6950s  + 0.2416s
 8.  Josef Newgarden      Fisher Dallara-Honda       1m02.7308s  + 0.2774s
 9.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon Dallara-Chevy       1m02.8867s  + 0.4333s
10.  Marco Andretti       Andretti Dallara-Chevy     1m02.9252s  + 0.4718s
11.  Helio Castroneves    Penske Dallara-Chevy       1m02.9298s  + 0.4764s
12.  James Jakes          Rahal Dallara-Honda        1m02.9889s  + 0.5355s
13.  Tristan Vautier      Schmidt Dallara-Honda      1m03.0350s  + 0.5816s
14.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi Dallara-Honda      1m03.0577s  + 0.6043s
15.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi Dallara-Honda      1m03.0971s  + 0.6437s
16.  Oriol Servia         Panther/DRR Dallara-Chevy  1m03.1281s  + 0.6747s
17.  JR Hildebrand        Panther Dallara-Chevy      1m03.1421s  + 0.6887s
18.  Takuma Sato          Foyt Dallara-Honda         1m03.1997s  + 0.7463s
19.  Justin Wilson        Coyne Dallara-Honda        1m03.2089s  + 0.7555s
20.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt Dallara-Honda      1m03.2320s  + 0.7786s
21.  Sebastian Saavedra   Dragon Dallara-Chevy       1m03.3909s  + 0.9375s
22.  Alex Tagliani        BHA Dallara-Honda          1m03.4498s  + 0.9964s
23.  Graham Rahal         Rahal Dallara-Honda        1m03.7855s  + 1.3321s
24.  Ed Carpenter         Carpenter Dallara-Chevy    1m04.0139s  + 1.5605s
25.  Ana Beatriz          Coyne Dallara-Honda        1m04.6239s  + 2.1705s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Hinchcliffe gets maiden IndyCar win
Sato sure Honda fast enough for win
Power continues St Pete pole run
Sato quickest in final practice
Power goes quickest in practice two