Find out more about our subscriptions

Jeff Smith stays on at Eurotech for 2013 BTCC season

Smith stays on at Eurotech for 2013British Touring Car racer Jeff Smith has confirmed he will stay at Eurotech Racing for this season.

Smith finished 12th in the standings in one of Eurotech's NGTC Honda Civics last year and helped the squad secure the Independents Teams' Trophy.

The 46-year-old has now confirmed he will again drive alongside Andrew Jordan at Eurotech in 2013.

"It's fantastic to keep the continuity of the team going and keep moving forward," he said. "Mileage is crucial for me so to get back in the same car and environment, with this team behind me, is absolutely brilliant."

The former Clio Cup racer believes he can build on the single podium he scored in 2012.

"It was a pretty good year and obviously the second place at Knockhill was a real highlight," he added.

"I wanted to finish in the top 10 overall and we just missed out on that, but this season I want to push on and get myself in and around the top six.

"I think there's a number of things with these NGTC cars that haven't been explored yet so to have a real testing programme this year is important. It really is about unlocking the full potential of this car now.

"I have the equipment to do it, so it's just down to the driver to deliver."

2013 British Touring Car line-up so far:

Team                   Car                     Drivers
Honda (Team Dynamics)  Honda Civic             Gordon Shedden/Matt Neal
MG (Triple 8)          MG6                     Jason Plato/Sam Tordoff
Motorbase Performance  Ford Focus              Jackson/Smith/Griffin
WSR                    BMW 125 M               Turkington/Collard/N Foster
Team HARD              VW Passat               Tom Onslow-Cole/Howard Fuller
                       Vauxhall Insignia       Jack Goff/James Cole
Speedworks Motorsport  Toyota Avensis          Dave Newsham/TBA
Ciceley Racing         Toyota Avensis          Adam Morgan
IP Tech Race           Chevrolet Cruze         Andy Neate
AmD Tuning             VW Golf/Vauxhall Astra  TBA
Rob Austin Racing      Audi A4                 Rob Austin/Will Bratt
Eurotech Racing        Honda Civic             Andrew Jordan/TBA
Dynojet                Toyota Avensis          Frank Wrathall
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed