Find out more about our subscriptions

Lotus signs Sorensen, Stockinger for 2013 FR3.5 season

Marco Sorensen Lotus Formula Renault 3.5 test BArcelona 2012Lotus Formula 1 junior drivers Marco Sorensen and Marlon Stockinger will race for the team's Formula Renault 3.5 outfit in 2013.

Sorensen, who raced for the Lotus-affiliated Charouz-run team last year, is a new addition to the junior programme, which is headed up by Lotus F1 team boss Eric Boullier.

The Dane was a frontrunner in his rookie season of FR3.5, and he believes that only bad luck prevented him from being a championship contender.

"It's great to be here and I think this association with Lotus can only be good for my career," said Sorensen.

"I had some bad luck while leading in races last year which meant P5 in the championship when it could have been more.

"At the end, it all comes down to results. If you don't perform you won't progress.

"So I'm hoping for a bit more good fortune this year and looking forward to taking on a new challenge with the Lotus F1 junior team."

Stockinger, who finished 10th in his second season of GP3 last year with one victory, is also new addition to the Lotus junior line-up.

"It's a great feeling to be associated with such a prestigious team," he said. "I really want to make the most of it and I am looking forward to wearing the team colours with pride.

"Of course, every driver wants to win, but I understand it's a big step moving into a new category so learning is the most important thing."

2013 Formula Renault 3.5 line-up so far:

Tech 1 Racing               Nigel Melker     Mikhail Aleshin
Arden Caterham              Pietro Fantin    Antonio Felix da Costa
Fortec Motorsports          Oliver Webb      Stoffel Vandoorne
ISR                         Sergey Sirotkin  TBA
Lotus                       Marco Sorensen   Marlon Stockinger
Carlin                      Jazeman Jaafar   Carlos Huertas
Comtec Racing               TBA              TBA
International Draco Racing  Nico Muller      Andre Negrao
DAMS                        Kevin Magnussen  Norman Nato
P1 Motorsport               Will Stevens     Matias Laine
Pons Racing                 Zoel Amberg      Nikolay Martsenko
AV Formula                  Arthur Pic       Yann Cunha
Zeta Corse                  TBA              TBA
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT