Find out more about our subscriptions

Motorbase retains Mat Jackson and Aron Smith for 2013 BTCC effort

Motorbase BTCC 2013British Touring Car squad Motorbase has confirmed it will run Mat Jackson and Aron Smith in its NGTC Ford Focuses this season.

Jackson switched from Motorbase's S2000 Focus to the new NGTC version during 2012 and finished seventh in the standings.

Irishman Smith stayed with the S2000 chassis and finished eighth in his first full BTCC season, winning at Brands Hatch in October.

As expected, both have now been confirmed in Motorbase-built NGTC Fords for 2013.

Team principal David Bartrum said: "It's great to be starting the season with two drivers that know the team so well; consistency is key at such an important time with our own car, and it means we can get straight to work."

Bartrum expects Jackson to fight for the title, adding: "I believe we have one of the strongest driver pairings on the grid.

"Mat has shown his BTCC pedigree over past few years and with the new NGTC up to speed, I fully expect him to be right up there battling for the 2013 title.

"It's also great to have Aron back in the Motorbase family; he had a great debut season last year, finishing on a high. With a new NGTC under him I'm sure there's much more to come."

Mat Jackson BTCC 2012Jackson, who has won 19 BTCC races, said: "The NGTC programme has been an exciting project to be involved with and what we achieved in 2012 was epic.

"We know how much more the NGTC could give and the Motorbase boys have worked incredibly hard over the winter to improve the car further.

"We will have to wait for the weather to improve so I can further my knowledge of the car, but I believe we have a car that can challenge for the main title in 2013."

Smith, 23, added: "To return to for a second season with Motorbase is what I always wanted.

"I don't think people realise how big a transition it is into the BTCC so it's nice to know I don't have as big a learning curve ahead of me this year and that everyone at Motorbase is behind me."

2013 British Touring Car line-up so far:

Team                   Car                     Drivers
Honda (Team Dynamics)  Honda Civic             Gordon Shedden/Matt Neal
MG (Triple 8)          MG6                     Jason Plato/Sam Tordoff
Motorbase Performance  Ford Focus              Mat Jackson/Aron Smith
WSR                    BMW 125 M               C Turkington/R Collard/N Foster
Team HARD              VW Passat               Tom Onslow-Cole/Howard Fuller
                       Vauxhall Insignia       Jack Goff/James Cole
Speedworks Motorsport  Toyota Avensis          Dave Newsham/TBA
Ciceley Racing         Toyota Avensis          Adam Morgan
IP Tech Race           Chevrolet Cruze         Andy Neate
AmD Tuning             VW Golf/Vauxhall Astra  TBA
Rob Austin Racing      Audi A4                 Rob Austin/Will Bratt
Eurotech Racing        Honda Civic             Andrew Jordan/TBA
Dynojet                Toyota Avensis          Frank Wrathall
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed