Find out more about our subscriptions

Dragon signs Sebastian Saavedra for 2013 IndyCar season

Sebastian SaavedraDragon Racing has signed Sebastian Saavedra to partner Sebastien Bourdais for the 2013 IndyCar season.

The 22-year-old Colombian will drive the team's #6 entry in what will be his second full season of IndyCar.

He raced for Conquest in 2011 before moving back to Indy Lights with Andretti last year, although he dovetailed that campaign with IndyCar starts at Indianapolis, Sonoma and Fontana in a car jointly run by Andretti and AFS.

Dragon team owner Jay Penske believes that his team will offer the perfect environment for Saavedra to progress.

"I have been watching Sebastian's rapid progression through the various series and I truly believe he is the perfect team-mate for Bourdais," said Penske.

"I look forward to seeing the results of their collaboration, and seeing them both on the podium many times this year."

Saavedra, whose entry is backed by TrueCar, said that he is confident of a successful future with the team.

"I'm extremely excited about this new chapter in my life, and very thankful to everyone who made it a reality," he said.

"Together with Sebastian and Jay's dynamic approach to building a winning franchise, [it] makes me a strong believer in Dragon Racing's future, and our ability to win championships together."

Sebastien Bourdais, Dragon, Baltimore IndyCar 2012Dragon started last year as a two-car Lotus-powered effort for Bourdais and Katherine Legge.

It was forced to scale back to one car after breaking ties with Lotus mid-way through the season, leaving Bourdais to race on road and street courses and Legge to take over for the ovals.

Bourdais delivered the team's best result of fourth at Mid-Ohio.

The team has also expanded its operations to include a facility in Indianapolis, which AUTOSPORT believes to be the workshop owned by the HVM team.

2013 IndyCar Series line-up so far:

Team                       Engine Drivers
AJ Foyt Racing             Honda  Takuma Sato
Andretti Autosport         Chevy  Ryan Hunter-Reay/James Hinchcliffe/Marco Andretti/EJ Viso
Bryan Herta Autosport      Honda  Alex Tagliani
Chip Ganassi Racing        Honda  Dario Franchitti/Scott Dixon/Charlie Kimball
Dale Coyne Racing          Honda  tba/tba
Dragon Racing              Chevy  Sebastien Bourdais/Sebastian Saavedra
Ed Carpenter Racing        Chevy  Ed Carpenter
KV Racing Technology       Chevy  Tony Kanaan/Simona de Silvestro
Panther/Dreyer & Reinbold  Chevy  JR Hildebrand/Oriol Servia
Rahal Letterman Lanigan    Honda  Graham Rahal/James Jakes
Sarah Fisher Hartman       Honda  Josef Newgarden
Schmidt Peterson           Honda  Simon Pagenaud/Tristan Vautier
Team Penske                Chevy  Will Power/Helio Castroneves

One-off entries:

Mike Conway - Rahal Letterman Lanigan - Long Beach
Carlos Munoz - Andretti Autosport - Indianapolis
Chase Austin - AJ Foyt Racing - Indianapolis
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Dragon defends split with Legge
Legge to legally contest Dragon exit