Find out more about our subscriptions

Pedrosa quickest from Lorenzo, Marquez in Sepang MotoGP test

Dani PedrosaDani Pedrosa edged out Jorge Lorenzo and Marc Marquez in an extremely close fought first MotoGP test of the 2013 season at Sepang.

Just 0.036 seconds covered the top three riders at the Malaysian venue at the end of the first day of running.

Moto2 champion Marquez was the early sensation, the MotoGP rookie topping the morning session.

The established aces edged him out in the afternoon, but not by much.

Last year's title-winner Lorenzo put in a 2m01.165s on his Yamaha, before Honda man Pedrosa inched ahead by just 0.008s.

Valentino Rossi's return to Yamaha showed promise as he lapped 0.3s off the pace in fourth.

The Italian's former team Ducati appeared to be in trouble. Nicky Hayden and Andrea Dovizioso were back in 10th and 13th places, both over two seconds off the pace, with Pramac duo Andrea Iannone and Ben Spies even further down the midfield.

Aspar continued its 2012 form in the CRT group, Aleix Espargaro and Randy de Puniet leading the class in 14th and 15th overall.

The test attracted a 28-bike field, the 24 2013 entrants bolstered by Yamaha test duo Katsuyuki Nakasuga and Wataru Yoshikawa, plus their Honda counterparts Kosuke Akiyoshi and Takumi Takahashi.

Pos Rider                 Bike                   Time               Laps
 1. Dani Pedrosa          Honda                  2m01.157s           49
 2. Jorge Lorenzo         Yamaha                 2m01.165s + 0.008s  58
 3. Marc Marquez          Honda                  2m01.201s + 0.044s  62
 4. Valentino Rossi       Yamaha                 2m01.584s + 0.427s  56
 5. Stefan Bradl          LCR Honda              2m01.789s + 0.632s  59
 6. Cal Crutchlow         Tech 3 Yamaha          2m01.881s + 0.724s  64
 7. Alvaro Bautista       Gresini Honda          2m01.981s + 0.824s  59
 8. Katsayuki Nakasuga    Yamaha                 2m02.968s + 1.811s  58
 9. Kosuke Akiyoshi       Honda                  2m02.972s + 1.815s  69
10. Nicky Hayden          Ducati                 2m03.336s + 2.179s  62
11. Wataru Yoshikawa      Yamaha                 2m03.456s + 2.299s  46
12. Bradley Smith         Tech 3 Yamaha          2m03.460s + 2.303s  56
13. Andrea Dovizioso      Ducati                 2m03.535s + 2.378s  48
14. Aleix Espargaro       Aspar Aprilia          2m03.782s + 2.625s  58
15. Randy De Puniet       Aspar Aprilia          2m04.283s + 3.126s  56
16. Andrea Iannone        Pramac Ducati          2m04.500s + 3.343s  57
17. Ben Spies             Pramac Ducati          2m05.086s + 3.929s  21
18. Takumi Takahashi      Honda                  2m05.154s + 3.997s  70
19. Hector Barbera        Avintia FTR-Kawasaki   2m05.469s + 4.312s  41
20. Yonny Hernandez       Paul Bird Aprilia      2m05.656s + 4.499s  50
21. Karel Abraham         Cardion Aprilia        2m05.694s + 4.537s  54
22. Danilo Petrucci       Ioda Suter-BMW         2m05.753s + 4.596s  29
23. Hiroshi Aoyama        Avintia FTR-Kawasaki   2m05.919s + 4.762s  48
24. Claudio Corti         Forward FTR-Kawasaki   2m06.426s + 5.269s  38
25. Michael Laverty       Paul Bird Aprilia      2m06.507s + 5.350s  43
26. Lukas Pesek           Ioda Suter-BMW         2m07.015s + 5.858s  46
27. Bryan Staring         Gresini Honda          2m07.044s + 5.887s  41
28. Colin Edwards         Forward FTR-Kawasaki   2m08.206s + 7.049s  25

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Pedrosa ends Sepang test on top
Hayden admits Ducati has lost ground
Pedrosa edges out Lorenzo again
Marquez plays down rapid start