Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Al-Attiyah wins sixth Dakar stage to close right in on Peterhansel

Nasser Al-AttiyahNasser Al-Attiyah reduced the gap to Dakar leader Stephane Peterhansel to just over a minute after winning Thursday's sixth stage of the event.

The Qatari driver, who had lost time to his rival on Wednesday, recovered more than eight minutes over Peterhansel to finish the day just 1m18s behind the Frenchman following the 272-mile special from Arica to Calama.

Al-Attiyah completed the special in four hours and 52 minutes to clinch his third stage victory of this year's Dakar. Peterhansel was second, ahead of American Robby Gordon, who was nearly 14 minutes behind Al-Attiyah at the finish.

Argentina's Orlando Terranova was fourth in the BMW X3, while Russian Leonid Novistkiy completed the top five.

South African Giniel de Villiers finished the day in sixth to keep third position in the standings, albeit over 42 minutes behind the leader.

Al-Attiyah's team-mate and former world rally champion Carlos Sainz, already out of contention after the problems he had suffered on Tuesday, was forced to retire from the event after being hit by engine problems in his Red Bull buggy.

Peterhansel's X-raid team-mate Nani Roma, the winner of Wednesday's stage, also hit trouble and lost all chances of fighting for the overall victory after getting stuck in a dune and losing over an hour to Al-Attiyah.

The rally will enter Argentina tomorrow with a 135-mile special from Calama to Salta.

Leading positions after stage six:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car            Time/Gap
 1.  Stephane Peterhansel  X-raid Mini          14h36m16s
 2.  Nasser Al-Attiyah     Red Bull Buggy      +    1m18s
 3.  Giniel de Villiers    Imperial Toyota     +   42m31s
 4.  Leonid Novitskiy      X-raid Mini         +   44m47s
 5.  Guerlain Chicherit    SMG Buggy           + 1h16m26s
 6.  Ronan Chabot          SMG Buggy           + 1h27m52s
 7.  Nani Roma             X-raid Mini         + 1h30m52s
 8.  Bernard Errandonea    SMG Buggy           + 1h50m37s
 9.  Carlos Sousa          Great Wall          + 2h02m55s
10.  Orlando Terranova     X-raid BMW          + 2h05m27s

Leading stage six times:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car            Time/Gap
 1.  Nasser Al-Attiyah     Red Bull Buggy      4h52m08s
 2.  Stephane Peterhansel  X-raid Mini         +  8m36s
 3.  Robby Gordon          Gordon Hummer       + 13m52s
 4.  Orlando Terranova     X-raid BMW          + 14m13s
 5.  Leonid Novitskiy      X-raid Mini         + 15m48s
 6.  Giniel de Villiers    Imperial Toyota     + 17m17s
 7.  Lucio Alvarez         Overdrive Toyota    + 25m36s
 8.  Ronan Chabot          SMG Buggy           + 25m53s
 9.  Guerlain Chicherit    SMG Buggy           + 28m28s
10.  Erick Wevers          HRX Ford            + 30m16s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Peterhansel: Faultless run a dream
Peterhansel hails 'incredible' win
Peterhansel seals another Dakar win
Peterhansel on brink of Dakar win
Roma quickest, Peterhansel still leads
Gordon wins shortened Dakar stage
Terranova flies as Peterhansel cruises
Peterhansel keeps Dakar advantage
Peterhansel set to lead amid chaos
Peterhansel fastest and pulls away
Rider dies in Dakar traffic crash
Peterhansel pulls clear on Dakar
Al-Attiyah closes on Peterhansel
Sainz demoted by Dakar officials
Peterhansel takes Dakar lead
Sainz given Dakar lead back
Peterhansel moves into Dakar lead
Sainz quickest on first Dakar stage