Find out more about our subscriptions

Valencia Moto3: Danny Kent secures victory with last-corner move

Danny Kent wins at Valencia, Moto3 2012Danny Kent beat his Moto3 champion team-mate Sandro Cortese to victory with a last-corner move in the wet Valencia season finale.

The dramatic denouement also saw Zulfahmi Khairuddin slip past Brad Binder within sight of the line to secure a podium sweep for the Ajo team.

Before the race even commenced, there was heartbreak for polesitter Jonas Folger, whose Aspar Kalex suffered fuel pump problems on the way to the grid.

The team revived the bike with seconds to spare so Folger could start from the pitlane, but he retired for good early in the race.

Luis Salom assumed the early lead, ahead of Miguel Oliveira and Alex Marquez.

Spanish champion Marquez, brother of Moto2 title-winner Marc, hit the front on lap two, only to crash out moments later.

Oliveira then spent several laps leading, losing out briefly to Louis Rossi before regaining the top spot when the Frenchman ran wide.

But he could not get away from the pack, and a three-abreast moment heading into lap eight saw Efren Vazquez spend a few seconds leading before Cortese grabbed first place.

It looked like that was where the world champion would stay, as he maintained a slight advantage over a lead group that numbered up to nine bikes at times.

Danny Kent passes Sandro Cortese, Ajo, Valencia Moto3 2012At the start of the final lap Cortese led from Kent, who was under big pressure from Binder for second.

But heading into the very last corner of the season, Kent slipped past Cortese to snatch the race lead, with Khairuddin producing an identical pass on Binder. That denied South African Binder his maiden podium finish, and secured an all-Ajo top three.

Oliveira and Vazquez's races ended when the Laglisse rider lost control and slid into Oliveira - just days after the pair had been announced as 2013 team-mates at the revamped Mahindra operation.

Faubel completed the top five, with Rossi falling back to seventh.

Former title contender Maverick Vinales could only manage a muted eighth, while early leader Salom drifted back to 10th.

Race Results - 24 laps:

Pos  Rider                  Team/Bike                    Time/Gap
 1.  Danny Kent             Ajo KTM                    45m05.981s
 2.  Sandro Cortese         Ajo KTM                      + 0.056s
 3.  Zulfahmi Khairuddin    Ajo KTM                      + 0.114s
 4.  Brad Binder            RW Kalex-KTM                 + 0.431s
 5.  Hector Faubel          Laglisse FTR-Honda           + 4.371s
 6.  Louis Rossi            Germany FTR-Honda            + 7.605s
 7.  Jakub Kornfeil         Ongetta FTR-Honda           + 14.931s
 8.  Maverick Vinales       Avintia FTR-Honda           + 18.495s
 9.  Niklas Ajo             TT MotionKTM                + 23.180s
10.  Luis Salom             RW Kalex-KTM                + 23.245s
11.  Philipp Oettl          HP Kalex-KTM                + 27.532s
12.  Juan Francisco Guevara Wild Wolf BST FTR-Honda     + 30.331s
13.  Niccolo Antonelli      Gresini FTR-Honda           + 31.255s
14.  Alessandro Tonucci     Italia FMI FTR-Honda        + 34.660s
15.  Josep Rodriguez        FGR Honda                   + 50.522s
16.  Alex Rins              Monlau Suter-Honda          + 50.554s
17.  Giulian Pedone         Ambrogio Suter-Honda        + 51.725s
18.  Romano Fenati          Italia FMI FTR-Honda        + 51.826s
19.  Arthur Sissis          Ajo KTM                     + 52.970s
20.  Isaac Vinales          Ongetta FTR-Honda           + 57.930s
21.  Alan Techer            Technomag-CIP TSR-Honda   + 1m00.758s
22.  Luca Amato             Aspar Kalex-KTM           + 1m47.794s
23.  Kenta Fujii            Technomag-CIP TSR-Honda   + 1m47.977s
24.  Armando Pontone        Ioda                          + 1 lap


     Jack Miller            Caretta Honda                 19 laps
     Toni Finsterbusch      Germany Honda                 19 laps
     Danny Webb             Mahindra                      18 laps
     Miguel Oliveira        Monlau Suter-Honda            15 laps
     Efren Vazquez          Laglisse FTR-Honda            15 laps
     Miroslav Popov         Mahindra                       9 laps
     John McPhee            Caretta KRP Honda              9 laps
     Jonas Folger           Aspar Kalex-KTM                7 laps
     Adrian Martin          Laglisse FTR-Honda             7 laps
     Luigi Morciano         Ioda Italia                    4 laps
     Alex Marquez           Ambrogio Suter-Honda           3 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Folger grabs last-gasp pole