Find out more about our subscriptions

V8 Supercars Abu Dhabi: Jamie Whincup completes triple victory

Jamie Whincup leads Abu Dhabi V8 SupercarsJamie Whincup completed his domination of V8 Supercars' Abu Dhabi Grand Prix support triple-header by winning race three on Sunday morning.

The reigning champion's path towards a fourth series title looks even more secure after the Yas Marina weekend, where Whincup's three wins in as many races took his victory tally for the season to 11.

The Triple 8 Holden driver had a minor brush with Ford Performance Racing's Will Davison at the start, but held the lead as Tim Slade swept through from fourth on the grid to take second.

The action was then paused after a big midfield crash left Karl Reindler's Kelly Racing Holden on fire. Jonathon Webb had tipped Jason Bright into a spin, with Bright then collected by Reindler and Dean Fiore. All escaped unhurt.

The blaze was extinguished and the wreckage cleared during three laps behind the safety car.

Whincup stormed away after the restart, with Davison not able to pass Slade for second until just two of the 12 laps remained.

Slade held on ahead of fellow Stone Brothers Ford man Shane van Gisbergen to complete the podium.

James Moffat spent most of the race defending fifth from a train of pursuers.

Only Mark Winterbottom was able to get past the Dick Johnson Ford, leaving Moffat to fend off most of the rest of the field to complete the top six.

Mired in this train was Whincup's team-mate Craig Lowndes, who never recovered from his poor qualifying result and had to settle for 11th.

Results - 12 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                  Time/Gap
 1.  Jamie Whincup        Triple 8 Holden        30m36.6840s
 2.  Will Davison         FPR Ford                  + 1.132s
 3.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/SBR Ford        + 2.906s
 4.  Shane van Gisbergen  Stone Brothers Ford       + 3.581s
 5.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford                  + 6.902s
 6.  James Moffat         Dick Johnson Ford        + 11.151s
 7.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden               + 11.589s
 8.  Lee Holdsworth       Stone Brothers Ford      + 12.622s
 9.  Rick Kelly           Kelly Holden             + 13.559s
10.  Fabian Coulthard     Kelly Holden             + 14.326s
11.  Craig Lowndes        Triple 8 Holden          + 14.706s
12.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford        + 15.058s
13.  James Courtney       HRT Holden               + 15.779s
14.  Alexandre Premat     Garry Rogers Holden      + 16.436s
15.  Michael Caruso       Garry Rogers Holden      + 16.704s
16.  Russell Ingall       Walkinshaw/HRT Holden    + 18.110s
17.  Tony D'Alberto       D'Alberto Ford           + 18.464s
18.  Steven Johnson       Dick Johnson Ford        + 20.806s
19.  Michael Patrizi      Tekno Holden             + 20.999s
20.  Steve Owen           Paul Morris/DJR Ford     + 21.892s
21.  Jonathon Webb        Tekno Holden             + 25.020s
22.  Tim Blanchard        Kelly Holden             + 25.212s
23.  Taz Douglas          Dumbrell Holden          + 26.547s
24.  David Wall           Britek/BJR Holden        + 27.553s


     Greg Murphy          Kelly Holden                6 laps
     Dean Fiore           Triple F/DJR Ford           2 laps
     Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden            1 lap
     Karl Reindler        Kelly Holden                 1 lap
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Whincup doubles up at Yas Marina
Whincup takes first V8 race
Davison sweeps to poles hat-trick