Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 60 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 60 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Surfers V8 Supercars: Will Davison and Mika Salo win Surfers finale

Mika Salo and Will Davison win in Surfers ParadiseWill Davison and Mika Salo made up for their disastrous first Surfers Paradise race by winning part two of V8 Supercars' Gold Coast 600.

On Saturday Salo had held the early lead only for Davison to crash their Ford Performance Racing Falcon on his out-lap after the driver charge.

Salo spent the first part of race two in fourth place, struggling with a handling problem, while Sebastien Bourdais pulled away up front in the Triple Eight Holden he shared with Jamie Whincup.

FPR chose to bring Salo into the pits early, meaning he would have to drive two stints whereas most of the international drivers would hand over to their V8 regular partners for the majority of the race.

Salo maintained the pace so well that by the time the divergent strategies had cycled through, Davison was running ahead of Whincup going into the closing stages.

Both were behind Tim Slade's James Rosenberg/Stone Brothers Ford, though. Slade and David Brabham had also taken an alternative strategy, getting a pitstop out of the way under the third safety car. That allowed them to appear in a surprise race lead once all the final stops were complete.

After a tough battle, Davison made it past Slade with 22 laps to go. Whincup and the second FPR car of Mark Winterbottom and Will Power soon followed, with Whincup then keeping pressure on Davison to the flag.

The championship leader ultimately had to settle for second, as Davison claimed his first win since Phillip Island in May.

Whincup finished right on his tail, with Winterbottom and Slade completing the top four.

Garth Tander and Ryan Briscoe claimed fifth for Holden Racing Team, followed by the second Triple Eight car of Craig Lowndes and Richard Lyons.

Russell Ingall, who shared his Walkinshaw Holden with Peter Dumbreck, held off a pack of cars for seventh.

Marc Lieb had again run very strongly in Jonathon Webb's Tekno Holden, holding second behind Bourdais in the first stint. But when Webb received a penalty for kerb-hopping, their podium challenge became a 14th-place finish.

Results - 102 laps:

Pos  Drivers                    Team/Car                    Time/Gap
 1.  Davison/Salo               FPR Ford               2h16m06.9161s
 2.  Whincup/Bourdais           Triple Eight Holden        + 0.5023s
 3.  Winterbottom/Power         FPR Ford                   + 2.1931s
 4.  Slade/Brabham              Rosenberg/SBR Ford         + 4.7583s
 5.  Tander/Briscoe             HRT Holden                 + 6.7205s
 6.  Lowndes/Lyons              Triple Eight Holden        + 9.9422s
 7.  Ingall/Dumbreck            Walkinshaw/HRT Holden     + 11.4888s
 8.  Holdsworth/Pagenaud        Stone Brothers Ford       + 11.6066s
 9.  van Gisbergen/Bleekemolen  Stone Brothers Ford       + 12.6979s
10.  Coulthard/Minassian        Brad Jones Holden         + 12.8490s
11.  Kelly/Rahal                Kelly Holden              + 13.8741s
12.  Johnson/Papis              Dick Johnson Ford         + 13.9017s
13.  Reynolds/Heidfeld          Rod Nash/FPR Ford         + 14.5725s
14.  Webb/Lieb                  Tekno Holden              + 17.0130s
15.  Wall/Campbell-Walter       Britek/BJR Holden         + 18.0038s
16.  Douglas/Conway             Dumbrell Holden           + 21.3784s
17.  Courtney/Turner            HRT Holden              + 1m15.4242s
18.  Owen/Said                  Paul Morris/DJR Ford         + 1 lap
19.  Fiore/Morbidelli           Triple F/DJR Ford          + 11 laps
20.  Murphy/Wilson              Kelly Holden               + 14 laps


     Blanchard/Andretti         Kelly Holden                 69 laps
     Caruso/Hinchcliffe         Garry Rogers Holden          34 laps
     Bright/Sarrazin            Brad Jones Holden            18 laps
     Patrizi/di Grassi          Tekno Holden                  0 laps
     Moffat/Kox                 Dick Johnson Ford             0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Whincup doubles up at Surfers
Whincup/Bourdais triumph in race one
Whincup and Bourdais get Surfers pole