Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 15 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 20, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 20 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Andrew Van de Burgt
Editor in Chief
Find out more about our subscriptions

Surfers V8 Supercars: Jamie Whincup doubles up in qualifying

Jamie WhincupJamie Whincup and Sebastien Bourdais secured a qualifying lock-out for the second straight year at V8 Supercars' Surfers Paradise event.

Whincup prevailed in a session disrupted by four red flags, claiming pole by just over 0.2 seconds.

As was the case in first qualifying his nearest challenge came from Ford Performance Racing, although this time it was Mark Winterbottom - sharing with Will Power - who led the way.

Winterbottom had been fastest with eight minutes to go, but was demoted by Whincup's Triple Eight Holden shortly before the last of the four stoppages. He tried to respond in the final minutes but fell just short.

Jonathon Webb, who beat Winterbottom to second in Saturday's opening race, will start from third in the Tekno Holden he shares with Marc Lieb.

Will Davison secured fourth in the second FPR Ford he shares with Mika Salo, with Rick Kelly/Graham Rahal one place down the road in their Kelly Holden.

Holden also accounted for the next two spots, courtesy of James Courtney (HRT) and Whincup's title rival and team-mate Craig Lowndes.

Ford rounded out the top 10 via Steve Owen, James Moffat and Shane van Gisbergen, who repeated the 10th place he secured for Stone Brothers in first qualifying.

Three cars - those of international drivers Ricky Taylor, Vitantonio Liuzzi and Franck Montagny - meanwhile failed to make qualifying due to damage sustained in the twice-aborted race one start.

Despite the frequent interruptions the top 21 were covered by less than one second.

Pos  Drivers                    Team/Car               Time        Gap
 1.  Whincup/Bourdais           Triple Eight Holden    1m11.1077s
 2.  Winterbottom/Power         FPR Ford               1m11.2532s  + 0.1455s
 3.  Webb/Lieb                  Tekno Holden           1m11.3217s  + 0.2140s
 4.  Davison/Salo               FPR Ford               1m11.3444s  + 0.2367s
 5.  Kelly/Rahal                Kelly Holden           1m11.3727s  + 0.2650s
 6.  Courtney/Turner            HRT Holden             1m11.5920s  + 0.4843s
 7.  Lowndes/Lyons              Triple Eight Holden    1m11.7332s  + 0.6255s
 8.  Owen/Said                  Paul Morris/DJR Ford   1m11.7685s  + 0.6608s
 9.  Moffat/Kox                 Dick Johnson Ford      1m11.7922s  + 0.6845s
10.  van Gisbergen/Bleekemolen  Stone Brothers Ford    1m11.8403s  + 0.7326s
11.  Slade/Brabham              Rosenberg/SBR Ford     1m11.8832s  + 0.7755s
12.  Tander/Briscoe             HRT Holden             1m11.9025s  + 0.7948s
13.  Ingall/Dumbreck            Walkinshaw/HRT Holden  1m11.9398s  + 0.8321s
14.  Johnson/Papis              Dick Johnson Ford      1m11.9476s  + 0.8399s
15.  Holdsworth/Pagenaud        Stone Brothers Ford    1m12.0008s  + 0.8931s
16.  Bright/Sarrazin            Brad Jones Holden      1m12.0081s  + 0.9004s
17.  Reynolds/Heidfeld          Rod Nash/FPR Ford      1m12.0447s  + 0.9370s
18.  Wall/Campbell-Walter       Britek/BJR Holden      1m12.0458s  + 0.9381s
19.  Fiore/Morbidelli           Triple F/DJR Ford      1m12.0574s  + 0.9497s
20.  Coulthard/Minassian        Brad Jones Holden      1m12.0695s  + 0.9618s
21.  Caruso/Hinchcliffe         Garry Rogers Holden    1m12.1201s  + 1.0124s
22.  Patrizi/di Grassi          Tekno Holden           1m12.4186s  + 1.3109s
23.  Blanchard/Andretti         Kelly Holden           1m12.6142s  + 1.5065s
24.  Murphy/Wilson              Kelly Holden           1m12.6882s  + 1.5805s
25.  Douglas/Conway             Dumbrell Holden        1m13.0722s  + 1.9645s

British GP competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Davison and Salo win Surfers finale
Whincup/Bourdais triumph in race one
Whincup and Bourdais get Surfers pole