Find out more about our subscriptions

Monza F2: Matheo Tuscher claims pole in wet/dry session

Matheo Tuscher F2 MonzaMatheo Tuscher claimed pole in a thrilling wet/dry qualifying session for the penultimate round of the 2012 Formula 2 championship at Monza.

His time of 1m45.536s was two tenths of a second faster than title favourite Luciano Bacheta, who will therefore share the front row with his principle challenger.

Both felt they could have gone faster but encountered problems with traffic. Tuscher was incensed by what he perceived to be a block from Mihai Marinescu on his best lap, while Bacheta spun into the second chicane attempting to overtake a slower car.

The session started on a damp but drying track with the field split over tyre choice. Of those who went with slicks Dino Zamparelli and Axcil Jefferies shone and both seemed set to contest pole, as those who made a mid-session switch from wets struggled to warm their tyres.

By the flag however they had dropped to fifth and eighth respectively.

That owed something to an accident from Max Snegirev at the first Lesmo with six minutes remaining, which prompted the red flag as the Russian's car was stranded in a vulnerable position.

The session consequently was turned into a three-lap shoot out for pole where Tuscher and Bacheta prevailed.

Third went to Kevin Mirocha, while Christopher Zanella took fourth after bravely deciding to sit out much of the session.

The other driver who could mathematically claim the title this weekend - Markus Pommer - was the last of the field to switch to slicks and could only finish 10th, giving him a lot to do in the race.

Pos  Driver                Time       Gap
 1.  Matheo Tuscher        1m45.536s
 2.  Luciano Bacheta       1m45.732s  + 0.196s
 3.  Kevin Mirocha         1m45.984s  + 0.448s
 4.  Christopher Zanella   1m46.035s  + 0.499s
 5.  Dino Zamparelli       1m46.173s  + 0.637s
 6.  Alex Fontana          1m46.232s  + 0.696s
 7.  Mihai Marinescu       1m46.269s  + 0.733s
 8.  Axcil Jefferies       1m46.473s  + 0.937s
 9.  Harald Schlegelmilch  1m46.970s  + 1.434s
10.  Markus Pommer         1m47.159s  + 1.623s
11.  Hector Hurst          1m47.639s  + 2.103s
12.  Daniel McKenzie       1m48.311s  + 2.775s
13.  David Zhu             1m48.749s  + 3.213s
14.  Maxim Snegirev        1m51.577s  + 6.041s
15.  Plamen Kralev         1m51.616s  + 6.080s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Zanella wins, Bacheta champion
Pommer grabs pole for F2 finale
Tuscher triumphs in wet Monza opener
Mirocha fastest in second F2 practice
Zamparelli sets Monza practice pace