Find out more about our subscriptions

Frederic Makowiecki takes pole position for Hexis McLaren at Nurburgring

Frederic Makowiecki, Hexis McLaren, NurburgringFrederic Makowiecki claimed pole position for the Hexis McLaren team at the penultimate round of the FIA GT1 World Championship at the Nurburgring.

The Frenchman, who is paired in the team's lead MP4-12C with Stef Dusseldorp, topped the times in the final segment of the three-round qualifying session on a 1m55.024s.

That put him three tenths ahead of Laurens Vanthoor in the WRT Audi R8 LMS ultra he shares with Stephane Ortelli.

Makowiecki said: "I didn't do a perfect lap. I was up on the first sector on the next lap, but then I made a mistake. It's good to be at the front, especially on this track, because the first corner is a little bit tricky."

Third place went to Oliver Jarvis in the second WRT Audi, which he co-drives with Frank Stippler, on a time a further two tenths back.

Makowiecki and Dusseldorp, who are looking to overturn a 17-point deficit in the drivers' standings over the final two weekends of the championship, significantly outperformed their rivals for the title.

Marc Basseng, who is second in the points with team-mate Markus Winkelhock, ended up eighth in the times in Qualifying 3 aboard the lead Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG, while championship leaders Michael Bartels and Yelmer Buurman ended up 11th after the former failed to make it through Q2 aboard the lead Vita4One BMW Z4.

The 13-car GT1 grid is bolstered at the 'Ring by 11 cars from the FIA GT3 European Championship.

Championship leaders Maximilian Buhk and Dominik Baumann qualified their Heico Gravity-Charouz Mercedes on pole for each of the two races.

Pos  Drivers                Team/Car            Time       Gap
 1.  Makowiecki/Dusseldorp  Hexis McLaren       1m55.024s
 2.  Vanthoor/Ortelli       WRT Audi            1m55.390s  + 0.366s
 3.  Jarvis/Stippler        WRT Audi            1m55.574s  + 0.550s
 4.  Pastorelli/Jager       Munnich Mercedes    1m55.811s  + 0.787s
 5.  Kox/Rosina             Reiter Lamborghini  1m55.922s  + 0.898s
 6.  Parisy/Bleekemolen     Reiter Lamborghini  1m56.263s  + 1.239s
 7.  Demoustier/Parente     Hexis McLaren       1m56.370s  + 1.346s
 8.  Basseng/Winkelhock     Munnich Mercedes    1m56.587s  + 1.563s
 9.  Ide/Castellacci        AF Ferrari          1m56.187s  Q2
10.  Buurman/Bartels        Vita4One BMW        1m56.280s  Q2
11.  Vilander/Salaquarda    AF Ferrari          1m56.305s  Q2
12.  Lauda/Mayr-Melnhof     Vita4One BMW        1m56.343s  Q2
13.  Lariche/Groppi         SUNRED Ford         1m57.151s  Q2
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Vilander/Salaquarda win for Ferrari
Lamborghini takes first win of 2012