Find out more about our subscriptions

Sears Point IndyCar: Will Power stays on top in practice two

Will Power, Penske, Sears Point 2012Will Power continued to set the pace in the lead-up to this weekend's IndyCar race at Sears Point after setting the fastest time in Saturday's second practice session.

Power, who led Ryan Briscoe in a Penske one-two during Friday practice, secured the top spot with a fastest lap of 1m17.5339s.

For much of the session nobody was able to get within 0.7 seconds of the Australian's time before Ganassi's Scott Dixon finally managed a 1m17.9725s effort.

Briscoe and Dario Franchitti both improved their times late in the session to finish up third and fourth-fastest respectively, roughly 0.5s off Power's time, with Sebastien Bourdais keeping Helio Castroneves out of fifth.

James Hinchcliffe prompted the morning's sole red flag with a spin at Turn 11, although the Andretti Autosport car was undamaged and the Canadian was able to complete the session.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                    Time        Gap
 1.  Will Power           Penske Dallara-Chevy        1m17.5339s
 2.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi Dallara-Honda       1m17.9725s  + 0.4386s
 3.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske Dallara-Chevy        1m18.0682s  + 0.5343s
 4.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi Dallara-Honda       1m18.2186s  + 0.6847s
 5.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon Dallara-Chevy        1m18.2520s  + 0.7181s
 6.  Helio Castroneves    Penske Dallara-Chevy        1m18.2549s  + 0.7210s
 7.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti Dallara-Chevy      1m18.5937s  + 1.0598s
 8.  Graham Rahal         Ganassi Dallara-Honda       1m18.6666s  + 1.1327s
 9.  Tony Kanaan          KV Dallara-Chevy            1m18.6949s  + 1.1610s
10.  Justin Wilson        Coyne Dallara-Honda         1m18.6966s  + 1.1627s
11.  James Hinchcliffe    Andretti Dallara-Chevy      1m18.7066s  + 1.1727s
12.  Marco Andretti       Andretti Dallara-Chevy      1m18.7385s  + 1.2046s
13.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt Dallara-Honda       1m18.7393s  + 1.2054s
14.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi Dallara-Honda       1m18.8115s  + 1.2776s
15.  Sebastian Saavedra   AFS/Andretti Dallara-Chevy  1m18.8997s  + 1.3658s
16.  Alex Tagliani        Herta Dallara-Honda         1m18.9732s  + 1.4393s
17.  Rubens Barrichello   KV Dallara-Chevy            1m19.0199s  + 1.4860s
18.  Mike Conway          Foyt Dallara-Honda          1m19.1867s  + 1.6528s
19.  Katherine Legge      Dragon Dallara-Chevy        1m19.1942s  + 1.6603s
20.  JR Hildebrand        Panther Dallara-Chevy       1m19.2427s  + 1.7088s
21.  James Jakes          Coyne Dallara-Honda         1m19.2731s  + 1.7392s
22.  EJ Viso              KV Dallara-Chevy            1m19.4640s  + 1.9301s
23.  Takuma Sato          Rahal Dallara-Honda         1m19.4777s  + 1.9438s
24.  Oriol Servia         Panther/DRR Dallara-Chevy   1m19.4890s  + 1.9551s
25.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM Dallara-Lotus           1m19.7419s  + 2.2080s
26.  Ed Carpenter         Carpenter Dallara-Chevy     1m19.7981s  + 2.2642s
27.  Josef Newgarden      Fisher Dallara-Honda        1m19.8261s  + 2.2922s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Briscoe beats Power to Sears win
Hunter-Reay leads Sears warm-up
Ganassi duo puzzled by lack of pace
Power beats Briscoe to pole
Power heads Briscoe in Penske 1-2