Find out more about our subscriptions

Zandvoort Formula 3 Euro Series: Felix Rosenqvist dominates race one

Felix Rosenqvist wins at ZandvoortFelix Rosenqvist took his first Formula 3 Euro Series win of the year with a dominant performance in the first race at Zandvoort on Saturday.

The Swede, who started second on the grid, outdragged polesitter Sven Muller to Tarzan as the lights went out and was never challenged.

The Mucke Motorsport driver, who won last year's Masters of Formula 3 at the same circuit, was 1.1 seconds clear at the end of the first lap and gradually pulled away to win by twice that margin. It was the second Euro Series win of his career and his first in the FIA European F3 Championship, which the race was also a round of.

Prema Powerteam driver Muller was second, ahead of his team-mates Michael Lewis and Raffaele Marciello.

Ma-con driver Tom Blomqvist overtook championship leader Daniel Juncadella for fifth between Tarzan and Gerlachtbocht on the opening lap, and stayed there until the finish, the British driver the best-placed of the Volkswagen-engined contingent.

Prema driver Juncadella, who saw his series advantage reduced from 12 points to 9.5 by Marciello, was sixth, just ahead of his two other title rivals; Pascal Wehrlein and Will Buller. Buller's eighth spot gives him pole for the afternoon's reversed-grid race.

Buller's Carlin team-mate Carlos Sainz Jr attempted to pass him with two wheels on the grass down the back straight on the opening lap, but was given a drive-through penalty shortly after for jumping the start.

After dropping to 14th and last, he overtook Luis Sa Silva - who later crashed at Marlborobocht - and Jo Zeller duo Sandro Zeller and Andrea Roda to finish 12th.

Results - 26 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                   Time/Gap
 1.  Felix Rosenqvist     Mucke Dallara-Merc       40m39.210s
 2.  Sven Muller          Prema Dallara-Merc         + 2.055s
 3.  Michael Lewis        Prema Dallara-Merc         + 8.077s
 4.  Raffaelle Marciello  Prema Dallara-Merc         + 9.226s
 5.  Tom Blomqvist        Ma-con Dallara-VW         + 15.823s
 6.  Daniel Juncadella    Prema Dallara-Merc        + 16.272s
 7.  Pascal Wehrlein      Mucke Dallara-Merc        + 17.337s
 8.  Will Buller          Carlin Dallara-VW         + 26.173s
 9.  Emil Bernstorff      Ma-con Dallara-VW         + 26.796s
10.  Lucas Wolf           URD Dallara-Merc          + 55.711s
11.  Carlos Sainz Jr      Carlin Dallara-VW         + 56.078s
12.  Sandro Zeller        Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc  + 1m03.057s
13.  Andrea Roda          Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc  + 1m30.537s


     Luis Sa Silva        Angola Dallara-Merc         24 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Muller penalised for Marciello clash
Juncadella wins amid wet/dry chaos
Buller wins shortened F3 race two
Muller claims Zandvoort F3 poles