Find out more about our subscriptions

Sims takes commading victory in second F3 Euro Series race at the Nurburgring

Alexander Sims wins at the NurburgringAlexander Sims marked his single-seater comeback with a commanding win in the second Formula 3 Euro Series race of the weekend at the Nurburgring.

The T-Sport Dallara-Nissan driver, who has raced exclusively in sportscars so far this year, started from pole position on the reversed grid and, after making a rocket start, was never headed throughout the 15-lap race.

The 2008 McLaren AUTOSPORT BRDC Award winner's victory was not only T-Sport's maiden Euro Series win, it also made Nissan the first Japanese engine manufacturer to take a race victory in the championship.

Raffaele Marciello overtook Carlos Sainz Jr for second at the start and finished there as well, the Prema driver taking full Euro Series points as Sims is not registered to score.

Sainz initially held third, ahead of Mucke duo Felix Rosenqvist and Pascal Wehrlein, but the Spaniard was given a drive-through penalty as his Carlin mechanics were still working on his car after the three-minute board had been shown on the grid.

With Sainz diving into the pits on lap four and dropping to the tail of the field, Rosenqvist and Wehrlein inherited third and fourth spots with Prema's Sven Muller in fifth and Tom Blomqvist taking his Ma-con car past Jazeman Jaafar's Carlin entry early on.

Jaafar held off Daniel Juncadella for seventh, a result that caused the Spaniard's championship lead over his Prema team-mate Marciello to drop to just 12.5 points.

Michael Lewis, also in a Prema machine, completed the opening lap in 14th, but produced a battling drive to move up to ninth by the flag; his best move coming on the penultimate lap as he passed Carlin's Will Buller into Turn 1. He had previously passed him at the same spot a lap earlier, but run wide on the exit and ceded the spot back.

Results - 15 laps:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car                    Time/Gap
 1.  Alexander Sims        T-Sport Dallara-Nissan    21m01.878s
 2.  Raffaelle Marciello   Prema Dallara-Merc          + 5.357s
 3.  Felix Rosenqvist      Mucke Dallara-Merc          + 6.322s
 4.  Pascal Wehrlein       Mucke Dallara-Merc         + 7.826s 
 5.  Sven Muller           Prema Dallara-Merc         + 10.156s
 6.  Tom Blomqvist         Ma-con Dallara-VW          + 13.988s
 7.  Jazeman Jaafar        Carlin Dallara-VW          + 18.642s
 8.  Daniel Juncadella     Prema Dallara-Merc         + 19.022s
 9.  Michael Lewis         Prema Dallara-Merc         + 22.591s
10.  Will Buller           Carlin Dallara-VW          + 24.815s
11.  Emil Bernstorff       Ma-con Dallara-VW          + 25.154s
12.  Luis Sa Silva         Angola Dallara-Merc        + 30.329s
13.  Lucas Wolf            URD Dallara-Merc           + 31.289s
14.  Andrea Roda           Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc     + 32.367s
15.  Carlos Sainz Jr       Carlin Dallara-VW          + 32.904s
16.  Sandro Zeller         Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc     + 41.965s
17.  Spike Goddard         T-Sport Dallara-Mugen      + 53.942s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Juncadella apologises for start clash
Wehrlein triumphs in chaotic finale
Juncadella wins to extend points lead
Juncadella claims brace of 'Ring poles