Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 15 stories this month. After 20, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 20 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Andrew Van de Burgt
Editor in Chief
Find out more about our subscriptions

Craig Lowndes adds second V8 Supercars win at Queensland Raceway

Craig Lowndes wins at QueenslandCraig Lowndes completed a double victory in the second V8 Supercars race of the weekend at Ipswich's Queensland Raceway.

The Saturday winner had only qualified fourth for race two, but muscled his way up to second on lap one as Mark Winterbottom got the jump on his polesitting Ford Performance Racing team-mate Will Davison to claim the initial lead.

Lowndes (Triple Eight Holden) soon attacked Winterbottom, slipping into the lead on lap six and then keeping the Ford at a safe distance to the finish.

Championship leader Jamie Whincup could not stay with Lowndes and Winterbottom so had to settle for third in Triple Eight's second car.

Davison was elbowed back as low as fifth in the early running and finished back in fourth. Fabian Coulthard and Russell Ingall completed the top six, chased by Shane van Gisbergen.

Results - 65 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                  Time/Gap
 1.  Craig Lowndes        Triple 8 Holden      1h18m23.0855s
 2.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford                 + 1.9759s
 3.  Jamie Whincup        Triple 8 Holden         + 16.1453s
 4.  Will Davison         FPR Ford                + 23.7223s
 5.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden       + 32.5279s
 6.  Russell Ingall       Walkinshaw Holden       + 33.3190s
 7.  Shane van Gisbergen  Stone Brothers Ford     + 34.6744s
 8.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/SBR Ford      + 36.1075s
 9.  Michael Caruso       Garry Rogers Holden     + 41.4618s
10.  Steve Owen           Dick Johnson Ford       + 55.2013s
11.  Steven Johnson       Dick Johnson Ford       + 57.2685s
12.  Michael Patrizi      Tekno Holden            + 57.7027s
13.  Tony D'Alberto       D'Alberto Ford        + 1m06.2307s
14.  James Courtney       HRT Holden            + 1m07.7522s
15.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden                 + 1 lap
16.  Todd Kelly           Kelly Holden               + 1 lap
17.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden          + 1 lap
18.  David Wall           Britek/BJR Holden          + 1 lap
19.  James Moffat         Dick Johnson Ford          + 1 lap
20.  Dean Fiore           Triple F Ford              + 1 lap
21.  Karl Reindler        Kelly Holden               + 1 lap
22.  Taz Douglas          Dumbrell Holden            + 1 lap
23.  Alexandre Premat     Garry Rogers Holden        + 1 lap
24.  Jacques Villeneuve   Kelly Holden               + 1 lap
25.  Rick Kelly           Kelly Holden               + 1 lap
26.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford         + 3 laps


     Lee Holdsworth       Stone Brothers Ford        55 laps
     Jonathon Webb        Tekno Holden               54 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Davison leads all-FPR front row
Lowndes victorious in race one
Lowndes grabs Queensland pole