Find out more about our subscriptions

Sebastien Loeb clinches Rally Finland victory

Sebastien Loeb, Citroen, Finland 2012Sebastien Loeb resisted a late challenge from Citroen team-mate Mikko Hirvonen to claim his third Rally Finland victory and his sixth triumph of the 2012 World Rally Championship season.

Hirvonen was quickest on the two runs through the epic Ouninpohja stage that concluded the rally, reducing Loeb's lead to 6.1 seconds and securing maximum power stage bonus points in the process. But the Finn could not grab a home win and had to watch his team-mate move another step closer to a ninth straight WRC title.

Loeb and Hirvonen led the way for the vast majority of the rally, as Ford struggled to match the Citroens' pace. Jari-Matti Latvala claimed third at home, 21s clear of team-mate Petter Solberg but 35s away from the lead.

Mads Ostberg fought back from a final day propshaft drama to reclaim fifth from Ott Tanak. Thierry Neuville and Evgeny Novikov had also been in top six contention early on, before crashing and having to resort to superally.

The final points went to regular Finland guest star Matti Rantanen, Jari Ketomaa's DMACK-shod Ford, Martin Prokop and Sebastien Ogier's S2000 Skoda.

Leading finishers after SS18:

Pos  Driver              Team/Car        Time/Gap
 1.  Sebastien Loeb      Citroen       2h28m11.4s
 2.  Mikko Hirvonen      Citroen           + 6.1s
 3.  Jari-Matti Latvala  Ford             + 35.0s
 4.  Petter Solberg      Ford             + 56.1s
 5.  Mads Ostberg        Adapta Ford    + 2m32.1s
 6.  Ott Tanak           M-Sport Ford   + 2m47.6s
 7.  Matti Rantanen      M-Sport Ford   + 4m51.7s
 8.  Jari Ketomaa        Autotek Ford   + 6m01.9s
 9.  Martin Prokop       Czech Ford     + 6m04.3s
10.  Sebastien Ogier     VW Skoda       + 8m46.0s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Loeb leads into final Finland stages
Loeb extends lead over Hirvonen
Loeb maintains Finland advantage
Loeb holding off Hirvonen in Finland
Loeb leads as Hirvonen closes gap
Loeb takes early Finland lead
Loeb selects 'safe' starting slot
Loeb fastest in Finland qualifying