Find out more about our subscriptions

Webber edges out Hamilton in third and final practice ahead of Hungarian Grand Prix

Mark Webber Red BullMark Webber ended Lewis Hamilton's run of fastest times in Hungarian Grand Prix practice as he beat the McLaren driver by 0.093 seconds on Saturday morning at the Hungaroring.

Hamilton denied Red Bull a one-two by squeezing in between Webber and his third-placed team-mate Sebastian Vettel.

The first half of the session, when the field was still working with medium tyres, saw the Red Bulls leading the way for a spell early on, before Raikkonen went in front for Lotus and then Hamilton got in a 1m21.706s to put himself over half a second clear of the field just before the midway point.

Hamilton squeezed that lap in just before the soft tyre times started to flow, with Vettel lapping in 1m21.671s to go quickest. He stayed there until team-mate Webber edged ahead by 0.121s five minutes later.

Unusually for a Saturday morning, that time stood until the end, with the only major late change being Hamilton's appearance in second place.

Bruno Senna suggested his promising Friday afternoon performance was no fluke by taking a very strong fourth for Williams.

Ferrari took its time joining the fray, then sealed fifth and eighth with Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa. The pair sandwiched the two Lotus drivers, Raikkonen and Romain Grosjean taking sixth and seventh.

Paul di Resta was ninth for Force India, with Jenson Button rounding out the top 10 in the second McLaren.

Mercedes seemed to be working more on heavy fuel runs. Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg did not feature in the top half of the times and ended up 17th and 18th.

Pos  Driver                Team                  Time              Laps
 1.  Mark Webber           Red Bull-Renault      1m21.550s           27
 2.  Lewis Hamilton        McLaren-Mercedes      1m21.643   + 0.093  17
 3.  Sebastian Vettel      Red Bull-Renault      1m21.671s  + 0.121  29
 4.  Bruno Senna           Williams-Renault      1m21.876s  + 0.326  22
 5.  Fernando Alonso       Ferrari               1m21.884s  + 0.334  13
 6.  Kimi Raikkonen        Lotus-Renault         1m21.953s  + 0.403  20
 7.  Romain Grosjean       Lotus-Renault         1m22.110s  + 0.560  24
 8.  Felipe Massa          Ferrari               1m22.136s  + 0.586  15
 9.  Paul di Resta         Force India-Mercedes  1m22.191s  + 0.641  20
10.  Jenson Button         McLaren-Mercedes      1m22.233s  + 0.683  24
11.  Pastor Maldonado      Williams-Renault      1m22.381s  + 0.831  21
12.  Kamui Kobayashi       Sauber-Ferrari        1m22.387s  + 0.837  20
13.  Jean-Eric Vergne      Toro Rosso-Ferrari    1m22.492s  + 0.942  26
14.  Nico Hulkenberg       Force India-Mercedes  1m22.530s  + 0.980  25
15.  Sergio Perez          Sauber-Ferrari        1m22.597s  + 1.047  23
16.  Daniel Ricciardo      Toro Rosso-Ferrari    1m22.716s  + 1.166  24
17.  Michael Schumacher    Mercedes              1m22.868s  + 1.318  30
18.  Nico Rosberg          Mercedes              1m22.931s  + 1.381  30
19.  Heikki Kovalainen     Caterham-Renault      1m24.036s  + 2.486  20
20.  Vitaly Petrov         Caterham-Renault      1m24.547s  + 2.997  18
21.  Charles Pic           Marussia-Cosworth     1m25.224s  + 3.674  22
22.  Timo Glock            Marussia-Cosworth     1m25.497s  + 3.947  21
23.  Pedro de la Rosa      HRT-Cosworth          1m26.785s  + 5.235  20
24.  Narain Karthikeyan    HRT-Cosworth          1m26.898s  + 5.348  26

All Timing Unofficial
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Hamilton on top in rain-hit FP2
McLaren duo head first Friday practice