Find out more about our subscriptions

Helio Castroneves fends off Takuma Sato for Edmonton IndyCar win

Helio Castroneves wins at EdmontonHelio Castroneves denied Takuma Sato a maiden IndyCar victory in a close-fought battle around the Edmonton airport circuit.

Castroneves and Sato had made the lead contest their own in the final stint, but the Brazilian was forced to work hard to keep Sato behind him. The Rahal Letterman Lanigan driver was the quickest driver on the circuit towards the end of the race and closed down a gap of more than three seconds to get close enough to have a couple of lunges at his Penske rival.

Both drivers leaned heavily on their Push To Pass during the last six laps, and the defensive benefit to Castroneves was enough for him to secure his second win of the season.

Will Power put in the drive of the day to go from 17th to third. One of the keys to his progress was a strategic one; the Penske driver staying out a lap or two longer than his rivals, and gaining an advantage each time. But mostly, he did it by simply being quick - during the middle of the race, he was lapping up to 0.8s quicker than the cars around him, although his challenge faded towards the end.

Graham Rahal backed up his early weekend claims of having a better car than his qualifying performance suggested by finishing 1.5s behind Power in fourth, ahead of Alex Tagliani.

For much of the race, the Canadian had been in charge. He passed polesitter Dario Franchitti shortly after the start, and continued to lead right through the first two cycles of pitstops. But his speed fell away in the third stint, and with it went his hopes of a win on home soil.

Ryan Hunter-Reay overcame his grid penalty to climb from 11th to seventh, finishing just down the road from Franchitti, while the Ganassi driver's team-mate Scott Dixon worked his way into the top 10 after starting 17th.

Unusually, the race ran its full distance without a full course yellow. Only two cars failed to make it to the finish, with James Jakes and Oriol Servia both being sidelined by mechanical problems.

Results - 75 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                        Time/Gap
 1.  Helio Castroneves    Penske Dallara-Chevy       1h38m50.9294s
 2.  Takuma Sato          Rahal Dallara-Honda            + 0.8367s
 3.  Will Power           Penske Dallara-Chevy           + 5.3697s
 4.  Graham Rahal         Ganassi Dallara-Honda          + 6.9481s
 5.  Alex Tagliani        Herta Dallara-Honda           + 15.2358s
 6.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi Dallara-Honda         + 15.8757s
 7.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti Dallara-Chevy        + 21.5357s
 8.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske Dallara-Chevy          + 23.5311s
 9.  Justin Wilson        Coyne Dallara-Honda           + 26.3280s
10.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi Dallara-Honda         + 26.6481s
11.  Mike Conway          Foyt Dallara-Honda            + 27.0458s
12.  James Hinchcliffe    Andretti Dallara-Chevy        + 31.4527s
13.  Rubens Barrichello   KV Dallara-Chevy              + 35.1256s
14.  Marco Andretti       Andretti Dallara-Chevy        + 39.8669s
15.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon Dallara-Chevy          + 40.8154s
16.  EJ Viso              KV Dallara-Chevy              + 55.1028s
17.  Josef Newgarden      Fisher Dallara-Honda          + 56.0449s
18.  Tony Kanaan          KV Dallara-Chevy              + 57.0272s
19.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi Dallara-Honda       + 1m04.8947s
20.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt Dallara-Honda            + 1 lap
21.  JR Hildebrand        Panther Dallara-Chevy            + 1 lap
22.  Ed Carpenter         Carpenter Dallara-Chevy          + 1 lap
23.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM Dallara-Lotus               + 2 laps


     Oriol Servia         Panther/DRR Dallara-Chevy        65 laps
     James Jakes          Coyne Dallara-Honda              43 laps

Daytona Competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Dixon tops Edmonton warm-up
Power and Servia get engine penalties
Hunter-Reay fastest, Franchitti on pole
Franchitti tops tight final practice
Drivers expect rapid Edmonton pace
Castroneves quickest in practice two
Pagenaud leads Edmonton practice