Find out more about our subscriptions

Pickett HPD duo Klaus Graf and Lucas Luhr win again in American Le Mans Series at Mosport Park

Klaus GrafPickett Racing claimed a fourth straight victory in the American Le Mans Series as Klaus Graf and Lucas Luhr commanded the Mosport Park round in their HPD.

Bar a penalty for having too many personnel over the wall at a pitstop, it was plain sailing for the Pickett team, with Luhr and Graf winning by 10 seconds over Chris Dyson and Guy Smith's Dyson Lola-Mazda.

Conquest celebrated its first victory in LMP2. Martin Plowman and David Heinemeier Hansson's race-long tussle with Level 5 duo Christophe Bouchut and Scott Tucker was finally resolved in the Morgan-Nissan's favour when Bouchut got a late penalty for crossing the pit exit blend line.

The closest finish came in the GT category, where the #45 Flying Lizard Porsche went into the final laps with the #3 Corvette and the #01 Extreme Speed Ferrari all over its tail.

As Corvette driver Jan Magnussen tried to challenge Jorg Bergmeister for the class lead on the last lap, Johannes van Overbeek slipped the Ferrari between them, giving Bergmeister enough breathing space to clinch what appeared to be a second straight victory for himself and Flying Lizard team-mate Patrick Long. That was then taken away when the Porsche failed the post-race stall test. Flying Lizard has appealed, but for now, van Overbeek and Scott Sharp have secured a first win for ESM.

Magnussen and co-driver Antonio Garcia's second place still moved them into the points lead because their team-mates Oliver Gavin and Tommy Milner lost time with transmission problems and failed to score.

Like LMP2, the LMPC class produced a first-time winner, as RSR's Bruno Junqueira and Tomy Drissi came home ahead of the CORE Autosport cars. Merchant Services lost the lead late on when Kyle Marcelli crashed in traffic.

GTC featured late drama too. Michael Valiante and Chris Cumming's JDX Porsche ran into trouble in the final minutes, and it was TRG duo Spencer Pumpelly and Emilio di Guida who came through to win.

Results - 117 laps:

Pos  Cl   Drivers                     Team/Car                    Time/Gap
 1.  P1   Luhr/Graf                   Pickett HPD             2h46m02.897s
 2.  P1   Dyson/Smith                 Dyson Lola-Mazda           + 10.695s
 3.  P2   Plowman/Heinemeier Hansson  Conquest Morgan-Nissan     + 35.075s
 4.  P2   Tucker/Bouchut              Level 5 HPD                + 54.788s
 5.  P1   Burgess/Lux                 Dyson Lola-Mazda            + 2 laps
 6.  PC   Junqueira/Drissi            RSR FLM                     + 2 laps
 7.  PC   Bennett/Braun               CORE FLM                    + 3 laps
 8.  PC   Popow/Dalziel               CORE FLM                    + 4 laps
 9.  PC   Richard/Ende                Dempsey FLM                 + 5 laps
10.  GT   Sharp/van Overbeek          Extreme Speed Ferrari       + 5 laps
11.  GT   Magnussen/Garcia            Corvette                    + 5 laps
12.  GT   Hand/Muller                 RLL BMW                     + 6 laps
13.  GT   Henzler/Sellers             Falken Porsche              + 6 laps
14.  GT   Miller/Maassen              Miller Porsche              + 7 laps
15.  GT   Neiman/Lally                Flying Lizard Porsche       + 7 laps
16.  GT   Muller/Auberlen             RLL BMW                     + 7 laps
17.  GT   Sweedler/Bell               Alex Job Lotus              + 7 laps
18.  GT   Brown/Cosmo                 Extreme Speed Ferrari       + 8 laps
19.  GTC  Di Guida/Pumpelly           TRG Porsche                + 13 laps
20.  GTC  MacNeil/Keen                Alex Job Porsche           + 13 laps


     GTC  Cumming/Valiante            JDX Porsche                  98 laps
     PC   Marcelli/Downs              Merchant FLM                 97 laps
     GT   Gavin/Milner                Corvette                     91 laps*
     PC   Franchitti/Dobson           PR1/Mathiasen FLM            26 laps
     GTC  LeSaffre/Faulkner           Green Hornet Porsche         23 laps
     GT   Bergmeister/Long            Flying Lizard Porsche            DSQ

* Running again at end
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Pickett takes another ALMS pole