Find out more about our subscriptions

Dario Franchitti leads Ganassi one-two in tight final Edmonton IndyCar practice

Dario Franchitti, Ganassi, Edmonton 2012Dario Franchitti led Scott Dixon to a Ganassi one-two in the third IndyCar practice session at Edmonton.

On a drying track, the name at the top of the timing screens changed constantly in the final few minutes before Franchitti made the spot his own with a 1m16.8904s, bettering Dixon's time by 0.0263 seconds.

The competitiveness of the session was underscored by the fact that the top six were covered by less than 0.3s, with Penske's Will Power falling in just behind the Ganassi duo, and Justin Wilson, Alex Tagliani and Takuma Sato just behind him.

Damp conditions left from overnight rain caught a few drivers out in the first half an hour, with Josef Newgarden spinning onto the grass shortly after the session began and bringing out the first red flag. Helio Castroneves and Wilson were also responsible for brief stoppages due to spins, although all managed to avoid damaging their cars.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                   Time        Gap
 1.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi Dallara-Honda      1m16.8904s
 2.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi Dallara-Honda      1m16.9167s  + 0.0263s
 3.  Will Power           Penske Dallara-Chevy       1m16.9621s  + 0.0717s
 4.  Justin Wilson        Coyne Dallara-Honda        1m17.0743s  + 0.1839s
 5.  Alex Tagliani        Herta Dallara-Honda        1m17.1037s  + 0.2133s
 6.  Takuma Sato          Rahal Dallara-Honda        1m17.1308s  + 0.2404s
 7.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt Dallara-Honda      1m17.3425s  + 0.4521s
 8.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti Dallara-Chevy     1m17.3436s  + 0.4532s
 9.  EJ Viso              KV Dallara-Chevy           1m17.3462s  + 0.4558s
10.  Graham Rahal         Ganassi Dallara-Honda      1m17.4277s  + 0.5373s
11.  James Jakes          Coyne Dallara-Honda        1m17.4526s  + 0.5622s
12.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon Dallara-Chevy       1m17.4852s  + 0.5948s
13.  Helio Castroneves    Penske Dallara-Chevy       1m17.4918s  + 0.6014s
14.  Josef Newgarden      Fisher Dallara-Honda       1m17.5417s  + 0.6513s
15.  Mike Conway          Foyt Dallara-Honda         1m17.6577s  + 0.7673s
16.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske Dallara-Chevy       1m17.6729s  + 0.7825s
17.  Tony Kanaan          KV Dallara-Chevy           1m17.8131s  + 0.9227s
18.  Rubens Barrichello   KV Dallara-Chevy           1m17.8660s  + 0.9756s
19.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi Dallara-Honda      1m17.8983s  + 1.0079s
20.  Oriol Servia         Panther/DRR Dallara-Chevy  1m17.9621s  + 1.0717s
21.  James Hinchcliffe    Andretti Dallara-Chevy     1m18.0198s  + 1.1294s
22.  JR Hildebrand        Panther Dallara-Chevy      1m18.0672s  + 1.1768s
23.  Marco Andretti       Andretti Dallara-Chevy     1m18.1808s  + 1.2904s
24.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM Dallara-Lotus          1m18.3754s  + 1.4850s
25.  Ed Carpenter         Carpenter Dallara-Chevy    1m18.4536s  + 1.5632s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Castroneves fends off Sato for win
Dixon tops Edmonton warm-up
Power and Servia get engine penalties
Hunter-Reay fastest, Franchitti on pole
Drivers expect rapid Edmonton pace
Castroneves quickest in practice two
Pagenaud leads Edmonton practice