Find out more about our subscriptions

Helio Castroneves quickest in Edmonton IndyCar practice two

Helio Castroneves, Penske, Edmonton 2012Helio Castroneves recovered from a spin to set the quickest time in the second IndyCar practice session at Edmonton.

Castroneves' best lap of 1m16.4920s was just enough to see him clear of Ganassi driver Scott Dixon, who popped up to second in the final minute with a lap 0.0027 seconds slower than the Brazilian's. Mike Conway (AJ Foyt Racing) also improved on his final lap to go third-fastest, putting him just ahead of local hero James Hinchcliffe.

Castroneves was responsible for one of the four red flags that punctuated the session when he locked up and spun at Turn 1. His car was undamaged, but he caused a heart-in-mouth moment for Penske team-mate Will Power, who had emerged from the pits just behind him and had to take to the escape road in order to avoid contact.

The other stoppages were triggered by Justin Wilson and Charlie Kimball, both of whom spun, and Conway, whose car stopped in the pit entry with 15 minutes of the session remaining.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                   Time        Gap
 1.  Helio Castroneves    Penske Dallara-Chevy       1m16.4920s
 2.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi Dallara-Honda      1m16.4947s  + 0.0027s
 3.  Mike Conway          Foyt Dallara-Honda         1m16.5122s  + 0.0202s
 4.  James Hinchcliffe    Andretti Dallara-Chevy     1m16.5740s  + 0.0820s
 5.  Alex Tagliani        Herta Dallara-Honda        1m16.6505s  + 0.1585s
 6.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi Dallara-Honda      1m16.6875s  + 0.1955s
 7.  Justin Wilson        Coyne Dallara-Honda        1m16.6985s  + 0.2065s
 8.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti Dallara-Chevy     1m16.7067s  + 0.2147s
 9.  Will Power           Penske Dallara-Chevy       1m16.7168s  + 0.2248s
10.  Rubens Barrichello   KV Dallara-Chevy           1m16.8078s  + 0.3158s
11.  Josef Newgarden      Fisher Dallara-Honda       1m16.8225s  + 0.3305s
12.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt Dallara-Honda      1m16.8350s  + 0.3430s
13.  Graham Rahal         Ganassi Dallara-Honda      1m16.8482s  + 0.3562s
14.  Marco Andretti       Andretti Dallara-Chevy     1m16.8999s  + 0.4079s
15.  Tony Kanaan          KV Dallara-Chevy           1m16.9230s  + 0.4310s
16.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske Dallara-Chevy       1m16.9331s  + 0.4411s
17.  EJ Viso              KV Dallara-Chevy           1m16.9715s  + 0.4795s
18.  Takuma Sato          Rahal Dallara-Honda        1m16.9741s  + 0.4821s
19.  James Jakes          Coyne Dallara-Honda        1m17.2266s  + 0.7346s
20.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi Dallara-Honda      1m17.2478s  + 0.7558s
21.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon Dallara-Chevy       1m17.2593s  + 0.7673s
22.  JR Hildebrand        Panther Dallara-Chevy      1m17.3555s  + 0.8635s
23.  Oriol Servia         Panther/DRR Dallara-Chevy  1m17.4791s  + 0.9871s
24.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM Dallara-Lotus          1m17.8749s  + 1.3829s
25.  Ed Carpenter         Carpenter Dallara-Chevy    1m17.9263s  + 1.4343s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Castroneves fends off Sato for win
Dixon tops Edmonton warm-up
Power and Servia get engine penalties
Hunter-Reay fastest, Franchitti on pole
Franchitti tops tight final practice
Drivers expect rapid Edmonton pace
Pagenaud leads Edmonton practice