Find out more about our subscriptions
FV8 3.5 NEWS 

Robin Frijns secures Moscow Formula Renault 3.5 pole

Robin Frijns, Fortec, Moscow 2012Robin Frijns took pole position for the first Formula Renault 3.5 race of the weekend at Moscow Raceway.

The Dutchman, who is tied on points with championship leader Sam Bird, was at the top of the times for most of the session as he improved on several occasions. He started to come under threat as nearly everyone went quicker in the final couple of minutes, but a late improvement of his own was enough to keep him ahead of the chasing pack by just 0.052 seconds.

Shortly before Fortec driver Frijns set his best lap, Marco Sorensen (Lotus) had missed out on beating his previous time by an even smaller margin. The Dane held on to the place though, just ahead of Tech 1's Jules Bianchi and DAMS' Arthur Pic.

Pic was one of several drivers who could rightly feel aggrieved when the red flags came out with just over one minute left on the clock, when Nikolay Martsenko spun his BVM Target car. Frenchman Pic was four tenths of a second up on Frijns at the first sector when he had to abandon the lap for the stoppage.

With so little time left on the clock the session was not restarted, leaving Bird fifth for ISR with Draco's Nico Muller alongside him on the third row.

Series newcomer Antonio Felix da Costa, who ran as high as fifth during the final flurry of activity, took seventh for Arden Caterham, while Jake Rosenzweig (ISR), Kevin Korjus (Tech 1) and Lucas Foresti (DAMS) completed the top 10.

Pos  Driver                  Team            Time       Gap
 1.  Robin Frijns            Fortec          1m24.031s
 2.  Marco Sorensen          Lotus           1m24.083s  + 0.052s
 3.  Jules Bianchi           Tech 1          1m24.188s  + 0.157s
 4.  Arthur Pic              DAMS            1m24.192s  + 0.161s
 5.  Sam Bird                ISR             1m24.214s  + 0.183s
 6.  Nico Muller             Draco           1m24.312s  + 0.281s
 7.  Antonio Felix da Costa  Arden Caterham  1m24.535s  + 0.504s
 8.  Jake Rosenzweig         ISR             1m24.738s  + 0.707s
 9.  Kevin Korjus            Tech 1          1m24.771s  + 0.740s
10.  Lucas Foresti           DAMS            1m24.810s  + 0.779s
11.  Alexander Rossi         Arden Caterham  1m24.823s  + 0.792s
12.  Carlos Huertas          Fortec          1m24.982s  + 0.951s
13.  Kevin Magnussen         Carlin          1m25.111s  + 1.080s
14.  Daniil Move             P1              1m25.240s  + 1.209s
15.  Andre Negrao            Draco           1m25.404s  + 1.373s
16.  Walter Grubmuller       P1              1m25.416s  + 1.385s
17.  Cesar Ramos             Lotus           1m25.566s  + 1.535s
18.  Zoel Amberg             Pons            1m25.734s  + 1.703s
19.  Nick Yelloly            Comtec          1m25.780s  + 1.749s
20.  Vittorio Ghirelli       Comtec          1m25.844s  + 1.813s
21.  Yann Cunha              Pons            1m25.966s  + 1.935s
22.  Mikhail Aleshin         RFR             1m26.022s  + 1.991s
23.  Sergey Sirotkin         BVM Target      1m26.076s  + 2.045s
24.  Anton Nebylitskiy       RFR             1m26.443s  + 2.412s
25.  Will Stevens            Carlin          1m26.710s  + 2.679s
26.  Nikolay Martsenko       BVM Target      1m26.772s  + 2.741s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Pic takes first win amid Moscow chaos
Bianchi claims Moscow race two pole
Frijns claims victory in Moscow opener
Bird completes Moscow practice sweep
Bird fastest in Moscow first practice