Find out more about our subscriptions

Dixon edges Hunter-Reay in third Toronto IndyCar practice

Scott Dixon TorontoScott Dixon narrowly edged out Ryan Hunter-Reay to set the quickest time in the third IndyCar practice session in Toronto.

On a drying track, the Ganassi team left it until the final minutes to do any meaningful running - Dixon did not even leave the pitlane until there were only six minutes of the hour-long session remaining - but it was enough for the New Zealander to set the standard with a best lap of 1m00.3841s.

Hunter-Reay (Andretti) fell short of Dixon's time by just 0.0099s, with Simon Pagenaud (Schmidt Hamilton) and Will Power (Penske Racing) a further 0.2s in arrears.

Sebastien Bourdais (Dragon), who led much of the middle phase of the session when the track was just starting to develop a dry line, finished up with the fifth-best time ahead of Ganassi's Dario Franchitti and Andretti's James Hinchcliffe.

The changing conditions gave plenty of drivers an opportunity to put themselves at the top of the timing screens, with Rubens Barrichello (KV Racing), EK Viso (KV Racing), Takuma Sato (Rahal Letterman Lanigan), Tony Kanaan (KV Rcing), Mike Conway (AJ Foyt Racing), JR Hildebrand (Panther Racing) and Bourdais all setting early benchmarks, although the final order was dictated largely by who managed to make the best of the dry conditions at the end.

Despite the slippery track surface there were only two brief stoppages for spins from Josef Newgarden (Sarah Fisher Hartman) and Hunter-Reay, although both were able to quickly resume running.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                     Time        Gap
 1.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi DW12-Honda           1m00.3841s
 2.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti DW12-Chevy          1m00.3940s  + 0.0099s
 3.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt DW12-Honda           1m00.6065s  + 0.2224s
 4.  Will Power           Penske DW12-Chevy            1m00.6151s  + 0.2310s
 5.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dragon DW12-Chevy            1m00.7582s  + 0.3741s
 6.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi DW12-Honda           1m00.8110s  + 0.4269s
 7.  James Hinchcliffe    Andretti DW12-Chevy          1m00.8141s  + 0.4300s
 8.  Oriol Servia         Dreyer & Reinbold DW12-Chevy 1m00.8372s  + 0.4531s
 9.  Mike Conway          Foyt DW12-Honda              1m00.8973s  + 0.5132s
10.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi DW12-Honda           1m00.9111s  + 0.5270s
11.  Graham Rahal         Ganassi DW12-Honda           1m00.9762s  + 0.5921s
12.  Helio Castroneves    Penske DW12-Chevy            1m00.9925s  + 0.6084s
13.  EJ Viso              KV DW12-Chevy                1m01.0524s  + 0.6683s
14.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske DW12-Chevy            1m01.1460s  + 0.7619s
15.  JR Hildebrand        Panther DW12-Chevy           1m01.2397s  + 0.8556s
16.  Marco Andretti       Andretti DW12-Chevy          1m01.2811s  + 0.8970s
17.  Josef Newgarden      Fisher DW12-Honda            1m01.3543s  + 0.9702s
18.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM DW12-Lotus               1m01.3562s  + 0.9721s
19.  Rubens Barrichello   KV DW12-Chevy                1m01.3702s  + 0.9861s
20.  Alex Tagliani        Herta DW12-Honda             1m01.3930s  + 1.0089s
21.  James Jakes          Dale Coyne DW12-Honda        1m01.4600s  + 1.0759s
22.  Takuma Sato          Rahal DW12-Honda             1m01.5618s  + 1.1777s
23.  Justin Wilson        Dale Coyne DW12-Honda        1m01.5800s  + 1.1959s
24.  Ed Carpenter         Carpenter DW12-Chevy         1m02.5826s  + 2.1985s
25.  Tony Kanaan          KV DW12-Chevy                1m07.4226s  + 7.0385s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Hunter-Reay wins again in Toronto
Dixon quickest in Toronto warm-up
Franchitti pips Power in pole battle
Pitcrew members not seriously injured
Franchitti stays on top in Toronto
Wilson says he couldn't avoid incident
Dragon pitcrew injured in Toronto
Franchitti leads first Toronto practice