Find out more about our subscriptions

Marc Marquez wins Assen Moto2 race as title rivals Pol Espargaro and Thomas Luthi crash out

Marc Marquez wins at AssenMarc Marquez pulled clear of his Moto2 title rivals by beating Andrea Iannone to Assen victory on a day when both Thomas Luthi and Pol Espargaro crashed out.

The result marked Marquez's first win since Estoril in early May, and was earned via a late charge to close down the big lead that Iannone had opened up mid-race.

Technomag-CIP rider Dominique Aegerter had jumped from fifth to the lead at the start, but soon had Espargaro's Pons Kalex on his tail. The Spaniard made it into the lead into the chicane at the end of the opening lap and then pushed to try and pull away while Marquez (Monlau Suter) was still battling clear of the rest of the lead pack, only to crash out. Espargaro was upset but unhurt, while his bike was wrecked as it tumbled through the gravel.

Fellow championship contender Luthi was already out, his Paddock Suter tangling with Ratthapark Wilairot's Gresini example at the first corner.

Marquez kept a low profile in the first half of the race, and it was Iannone (Speed Master) who broke away while the points leader quietly diced with Aegerter and Marc VDS' Scott Redding.

Iannone's lead got as large as three seconds, but it would not last. Entering the closing stages, Marquez lifted his pace and demolished Iannone's advantage.

They were absolutely together with three laps to go. Although Iannone was twice able to repass Marquez after losing the lead, he could not hang on indefinitely and the Spaniard finally grabbed first place for good on the final lap.

Redding overcame a strong challenge from Pons rider Esteve Rabat to claim his second straight podium, with Forward's Alex de Angelis - now on an FTR chassis - and Tech 3's Bradley Smith on their tail.

Aegerter faded to seventh, as eighth-placed JIR rider Johann Zarco recovered from his qualifying crash to lead home former champion Toni Elias (Aspar), Redding's team-mate Mika Kallio and second-row starter Randy Krummenacher (Team Switzerland).

Results - 24 laps:

Pos  Rider                Team/Bike                 Time/Gap
 1.  Marc Marquez         Monlau Suter            39m43.170s
 2.  Andrea Iannone       Speed Master Speed Up     + 0.405s
 3.  Scott Redding        Marc VDS Kalex            + 7.331s
 4.  Esteve Rabat         Pons Kalex                + 7.630s
 5.  Alex de Angelis      Forward FTR               + 7.852s
 6.  Bradley Smith        Tech 3                    + 8.578s
 7.  Dominique Aegerter   Technomag-CIP Suter      + 10.017s
 8.  Johann Zarco         JIR Motobi               + 14.481s
 9.  Toni Elias           Aspar Suter              + 14.714s
10.  Mika Kallio          Marc VDS Kalex           + 14.734s
11.  Randy Krummenacher   Switzerland Kalex        + 14.944s
12.  Takaaki Nakagami     Italtrans Kalex          + 22.106s
13.  Xavier Simeon        Tech 3                   + 23.068s
14.  Julian Simon         Avintia Suter            + 23.532s
15.  Mike di Meglio       Speed Master Speed Up    + 23.733s
16.  Claudio Corti        Italtrans Kalex          + 25.619s
17.  Nicolas Terol        Aspar Suter              + 25.913s
18.  Ricard Cardus        Arguinano AJR            + 25.974s
19.  Roberto Rolfo        Technomag-CIP Suter      + 34.640s
20.  Yuki Takahashi       Forward FTR              + 44.057s
21.  Anthony West         QMMF Moriwaki            + 44.739s
22.  Gino Rea             Gresini Suter            + 59.784s
23.  Marco Colandrea      SAG FTR                + 1m10.125s
24.  Eric Granado         JIR Motobi             + 1m12.139s
25.  Elena Rosell         QMMF Moriwaki          + 1m33.233s


     Max Neukirchner      Kiefer Kalex               23 laps
     Alexander Lundh      MZ                         22 laps
     Simone Corsi         Iodat FTR                  14 laps
     Damian Cudlin        SAG Bimota                 14 laps
     Axel Pons            Pons Kalex                  8 laps
     Ratthapark Wilairot  Gresini Suter               5 laps
     Pol Espargaro        Pons Kalex                   1 lap
     Thomas Luthi         Paddock Suter               0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Marquez claims fifth pole of season