Find out more about our subscriptions

Marquez takes fifth pole of the season in Moto2 qualifying at Assen

Marc Marquez, Moto2, 2012Moto2 championship leader Marc Marquez claimed his fifth pole position of the 2012 season with a blistering 1m37.133s lap at Assen - and then held on to the top spot despite crashing.

Marquez's pole lap was a spectacular effort, which saw him arrive at the final chicance sliding slightly sideways as he dived down the outside of the slower-moving Simone Corsi and still come through to beat his rivals by nearly half a second.

The Spaniard then had a high-side at Turn 5 on his next run, but was unhurt - despite a heavy landing - and able to right his bike and return to the pits.

Title contender Pol Espargaro (Pons) was on top until the Monlau rider deposed him five minutes from the end, leaving Espargaro to hang on for second.

Andrea Iannone completed the front row for Speed Master.

It was a good day for some of Moto2's Swiss contingent, as Team Switzerland's Randy Krummenacher achieved his best Moto2 grid spot yet in fourth, just ahead of compatriot Dominique Aegerter (Technomag-CIP), who equalled his Moto2 career best. But Switzerland's title protagonist Thomas Luthi was only 10th on the Paddock Suter.

Corsi (Ioda) qualified sixth, ahead of British duo Scott Redding (Marc
VDS) and Bradley Smith (Tech 3), with Alex de Angelis's Forward FTR next up.

The session also saw crashes for Italtrans' Claudio Corti, QMMF duo Anthony West and Elena Rosell, and JIR's Johann Zarco. All escaped injury.

Pos  Rider                Team/Bike              Time       Gap
 1.  Marc Marquez         Monlau Suter           1n37.133s
 2.  Pol Espargaro        Pons Kalex             1n37.588s  + 0.455s
 3.  Andrea Iannone       Speed Master Speed Up  1n37.956s  + 0.823s
 4.  Randy Krummenacher   Switzerland Kalex      1n38.279s  + 1.146s
 5.  Dominique Aegerter   Technomag-CIP Suter    1n38.349s  + 1.216s
 6.  Simone Corsi         Ioda FTR               1n38.400s  + 1.267s
 7.  Scott Redding        Marc VDS Kalex         1n38.401s  + 1.268s
 8.  Bradley Smith        Tech 3                 1n38.414s  + 1.281s
 9.  Alex de Angelis      Forward FTR            1n38.483s  + 1.350s
10.  Thomas Luthi         Paddock Suter          1n38.488s  + 1.355s
11.  Esteve Rabat         Pons Kalex             1n38.511s  + 1.378s
12.  Mika Kallio          Marc VDS Kalex         1n38.525s  + 1.392s
13.  Ratthapark Wilairot  Gresini Suter          1n38.573s  + 1.440s
14.  Takaaki Nakagami     Italtrans Kalex        1n38.636s  + 1.503s
15.  Ricard Cardus        Arguinano AJR          1n38.642s  + 1.509s
16.  Roberto Rolfo        Technomag-CIP Suter    1n38.665s  + 1.532s
17.  Claudio Corti        Italtrans Kalex        1n38.899s  + 1.766s
18.  Max Neukirchner      Kiefer Kalex           1n38.950s  + 1.817s
19.  Johann Zarco         JIR Motobi             1n38.996s  + 1.863s
20.  Axel Pons            Pons Kalex             1n39.191s  + 2.058s
21.  Toni Elias           Aspar Suter            1n39.200s  + 2.067s
22.  Mike di Meglio       Speed Master Speed Up  1n39.207s  + 2.074s
23.  Julian Simon         Avintia Suter          1n39.257s  + 2.124s
24.  Xavier Simeon        Tech 3                 1n39.302s  + 2.169s
25.  Nicolas Terol        Aspar Suter            1n39.584s  + 2.451s
26.  Gino Rea             Gresini Suter          1n39.628s  + 2.495s
27.  Alexander Lundh      MZ                     1n39.941s  + 2.808s
28.  Anthony West         QMMF Moriwaki          1n40.333s  + 3.200s
29.  Yuki Takahashi       Forward FTR            1n40.675s  + 3.542s
30.  Damian Cudlin        SAG Bimota             1n40.746s  + 3.613s
31.  Eric Granado         JIR Motobi             1n40.970s  + 3.837s
32.  Marco Colandrea      SAG FTR                1n41.276s  + 4.143s
33.  Elena Rosell         QMMF Moriwaki          1n42.273s  + 5.140s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Marquez triumphs as rivals crash