Find out more about our subscriptions

Carlos Sainz Jr quickest in British F3 test at Brands Hatch

Carlos Sainz JrCarlos Sainz Jr went fastest by almost half a second as the British Formula 3 International Series prepared for this weekend's Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit round with a pair of one-hour test sessions.

The Spaniard unleashed a corking lap with just three minutes of running remaining, as most of the field improved in a final 10-minute sprint after National Class racer Spike Goddard had caused a red flag by crashing on the GP loop and damaging a tyre wall.

Up until then, Sainz had been trading fastest times with Jack Harvey, his stablemate in the Carlin squad of Dallara-Volkswagens. The two were evenly matched in the first session, which Sainz edged by 0.2s, and were again nip and tuck later on before Sainz did his flier.

Harvey was also demoted by team-mate Harry Tincknell, who snuck into second place in the closing couple of minutes at the circuit where he won a reversed-grid race last year.

Carlin's points leader Jazeman Jaafar was down in fifth, and was headed by Felix Serralles, who bounced back to form by beating Alex Lynn to be the fastest of the Fortec Motorsport quartet of Dallara-Mercedes.

As well as Goddard's crash, there were red flags in the earlier session caused when Pietro Fantin and British F3 returnee Adderly Fong took trips into the Paddock Hill Bend gravel.

Fong, driving a Dallara run by the CF Racing team, leapfrogged Goddard in the closing minutes to top the National Class times.

Pos  Driver                Team/Car                Time        Gap
 1.  Carlos Sainz Jr       Carlin Dallara-VW       1m17.257s
 2.  Harry Tincknell       Carlin Dallara-VW       1m17.727s   + 0.470s
 3.  Jack Harvey           Carlin Dallara-VW       1m17.881s   + 0.624s
 4.  Felix Serralles       Fortec Dallara-Merc     1m17.911s   + 0.654s
 5.  Jazeman Jaafar        Carlin Dallara-VW       1m18.002s   + 0.745s
 6.  Alex Lynn             Fortec Dallara-Merc     1m18.165s   + 0.908s
 7.  Pietro Fantin         Carlin Dallara-VW       1m18.269s   + 1.012s
 8.  Hannes van Asseldonk  Fortec Dallara-Merc     1m18.615s   + 1.358s
 9.  Fahmi Ilyas           Double R Dallara-Merc   1m19.050s   + 1.793s
10.  Pipo Derani           Fortec Dallara-Merc     1m19.150s   + 1.893s
11.  Geoff Uhrhane         Double R Dallara-Merc   1m19.473s   + 2.216s
12.  Nick McBride          T-Sport Dallara-Nissan  1m19.629s   + 2.372s
13.  Adderly Fong          CF Dallara-Mugen        1m20.238s*  + 2.981s
14.  Spike Goddard         T-Sport Dallara-Mugen   1m20.840s*  + 3.583s
15.  Duvashen Padayachee   Double R Dallara-Mugen  1m22.711s*  + 5.454s

* = National Class
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed