Find out more about our subscriptions

Justin Wilson tops second IndyCar practice at Milwaukee for Dale Coyne Racing

JUstin Wilson Dale Coyne 2012 IndyCar Milwaukee

Justin Wilson set the fastest time in the second IndyCar practice session at Milwaukee.

The Dale Coyne Racing driver, who won last weekend's race at Texas, topped the sheets with a 164.785mph (22.1744s) lap of the one-mile oval, giving him the edge over Sarah Fisher Hartman's Josef Newgarden (164.140mph).

Helio Castroneves was third fastest and best of the Chevrolet-powered drivers with his 163.927mph effort, with KV's EJ Viso and Ganassi's Graham Rahal completing the top five.

Reigning champion Will Power, who join Wilson in being one of several drivers carrying 10-place grid penalties into the weekend, was 13th fastest, while 2011 Milwaukee winner Dario Franchitti had to settle for 18th spot.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                Time      Gap
 1.  Justin Wilson        Coyne DW12-Honda        22.1744s
 2.  Josef Newgarden      Fisher DW12-Honda       22.2438s  + 0.0694s
 3.  Helio Castroneves    Penske DW12-Chevy       22.2904s  + 0.1160s
 4.  EJ Viso              KV DW12-Chevy           22.3664s  + 0.1920s
 5.  Graham Rahal         Ganassi DW12-Honda      22.3719s  + 0.1975s
 6.  Rubens Barrichello   KV DW12-Chevy           22.4185s  + 0.2441s
 7.  James Hinchcliffe    Andretti DW12-Chevy     22.4360s  + 0.2616s
 8.  JR Hildebrand        Panther DW12-Chevy      22.4603s  + 0.2859s
 9.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi DW12-Honda      22.4781s  + 0.3037s
10.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti DW12-Chevy     22.4841s  + 0.3097s
11.  Takuma Sato          Rahal DW12-Honda        22.5021s  + 0.3277s
12.  James Jakes          Coyne DW12-Honda        22.5361s  + 0.3617s
13.  Will Power           Penske DW12-Chevy       22.6051s  + 0.4307s
14.  Alex Tagliani        Herta DW12-Honda        22.6203s  + 0.4459s
15.  Tony Kanaan          KV DW12-Chevy           22.7542s  + 0.5798s
16.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske DW12-Chevy       22.7592s  + 0.5848s
17.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt DW12-Honda      22.7706s  + 0.5962s
18.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi DW12-Honda      22.8212s  + 0.6468s
19.  Marco Andretti       Andretti DW12-Chevy     22.9933s  + 0.8189s
20.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi DW12-Honda      23.0157s  + 0.8413s
21.  Ed Carpenter         Carpenter DW12-Chevy    23.1076s  + 0.9332s
22.  Mike Conway          Foyt DW12-Honda         23.1286s  + 0.9542s
23.  Katherine Legge      Dragon DW12-Chevy       23.2729s  + 1.0985s
24.  Oriol Servia         Panther/DRR DW12-Chevy  23.3180s  + 1.1436s
25.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM DW12-Lotus          23.3261s  + 1.1517s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Hunter-Reay wins rain-hit Milwaukee
Franchitti takes Milwaukee pole
Newgarden tops Milwaukee practice