Find out more about our subscriptions

Rookie Josef Newgarden tops Milwaukee IndyCar practice for Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing

Josef Newgarden Sarah Fisher Hartman Milwaukee IndyCar 2012

Josef Newgarden opened the Milwaukee IndyCar weekend by setting the pace in the opening practice session on the one-mile oval.

The Sarah Fisher Hartman driver lapped in 22.0232 seconds at a speed of 165.916mph in his Dallara-Honda at what is the first of the short oval circuits visited by the series this year.

Helio Castroneves was 0.0863s slower in his Penske-run Dallara-Chevrolet, the American-powered machines being outnumbered 6-4 by their Japanese counterparts in the top 10.

KV's EJ Viso was third-quickest, with Bryan Herta driver Alex Tagliani and Panther's JR Hildebrand rounding out the top five.

Last year's Milwaukee winner Dario Franchitti finished up just behind his Ganassi team-mate Scott Dixon with the 11th-best time, while championship leader Will Power was 19th for Penske.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                Time      Gap
 1.  Josef Newgarden      Fisher DW12-Honda       22.0232s
 2.  Helio Castroneves    Penske DW12-Chevy       22.1095s  + 0.0863s
 3.  EJ Viso              KV DW12-Chevy           22.2776s  + 0.2544s
 4.  Alex Tagliani        Herta DW12-Honda        22.3654s  + 0.3422s
 5.  JR Hildebrand        Panther DW12-Chevy      22.3926s  + 0.3694s
 6.  Rubens Barrichello   KV DW12-Chevy           22.5160s  + 0.4928s
 7.  James Jakes          Coyne DW12-Honda        22.5821s  + 0.5589s
 8.  Graham Rahal         Ganassi DW12-Honda      22.6121s  + 0.5889s
 9.  Takuma Sato          Rahal DW12-Honda        22.6154s  + 0.5922s
10.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi DW12-Honda      22.6159s  + 0.5927s
11.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi DW12-Honda      22.6309s  + 0.6077s
12.  Marco Andretti       Andretti DW12-Chevy     22.6325s  + 0.6093s
13.  Oriol Servia         Panther/DRR DW12-Chevy  22.6814s  + 0.6582s
14.  James Hinchcliffe    Andretti DW12-Chevy     22.7178s  + 0.6946s
15.  Justin Wilson        Coyne DW12-Honda        22.7202s  + 0.6970s
16.  Tony Kanaan          KV DW12-Chevy           22.7780s  + 0.7548s
17.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske DW12-Chevy       22.8484s  + 0.8252s
18.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti DW12-Chevy     22.8690s  + 0.8458s
19.  Will Power           Penske DW12-Chevy       22.8727s  + 0.8495s
20.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi DW12-Honda      22.9290s  + 0.9058s
21.  Simon Pagenaud       Schmidt DW12-Honda      22.9840s  + 0.9608s
22.  Mike Conway          Foyt DW12-Honda         23.2188s  + 1.1956s
23.  Katherine Legge      Dragon DW12-Chevy       23.2237s  + 1.2005s
24.  Ed Carpenter         Carpenter DW12-Chevy    23.5241s  + 1.5009s
25.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM DW12-Lotus          23.5898s  + 1.5666s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Hunter-Reay wins rain-hit Milwaukee
Franchitti takes Milwaukee pole
Wilson tops FP2 at Milwaukee