Find out more about our subscriptions

FIA's WMSC confirms no new rallies on WRC calendar in 2013

Sebastien Loeb, Citroen, Australia 2011The World Motor Sport Council has confirmed the calendar for next season's World Rally Championship remains unchanged except for switching New Zealand for Australia, as reported by AUTOSPORT earlier this week.

The FIA's communication from today's meeting in Paris listed the rallies involved for 2013, but without any dates.

WRC Commission president Jarmo Mahonen had stated ahead of the meeting that the dates would be expected to come in September, once the logistical conundrum of moving the series around the world has been solved.

In alphabetical order, the rallies for next year are: Argentina, Australia, Finland, France, Germany, GB, Greece, Italy, Mexico, Monte Carlo, Portugal, Spain and Sweden.

The communication stated: "The dates will be submitted at a later time, taking logistics and the calendars of the other FIA Championships into account and to avoid, where possible, date clashes."

As expected, South Africa and Brazil were not listed.

The communication continued: "Candidate rallies will be considered for the 2014 calendar, to ensure their events meet the requirements of a WRC event. These rallies will be run and observed before the end of April 2013. Brazil and South Africa have already expressed their interest in participating."

An announcement regarding the identity of the promoter of the WRC has been postponed until September's WMSC meeting, despite assurances of news on this subject today.

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
No new WRC events for 2013 season
WRC rounds fail to sign FIA contract
WRC events facing Friday deadline
Timing firm keen to resolve WRC row
WRC faces fresh crisis over 2013