Find out more about our subscriptions

Jack Harvey dominates Rockingham British Formula 3 finale

Rockingham podiumA totally dominant performance from Jack Harvey destroyed his opposition in the British Formula 3 International Series' final race of the weekend at Rockingham.

After an early safety car, Harvey initially pulled away at a second per lap and finished 22 seconds ahead of his closest rival.

It completed a clean sweep of wins in the weekend's races for the Carlin team's troupe of Dallara-Volkswagens.

Harvey, who had failed to make a good getaway in the previous two races of the weekend, said: "It felt like quite a good start this time. After about lap 10 I asked the team if I should save my tyres, but I was still able to lap only two tenths off the best anyone else did in the race, even at the end."

Alex Lynn was the best of the rest, the rookie taking another podium finish in his Fortec Motorsport Dallara-Mercedes and keeping Carlos Sainz Jr at bay throughout. The Spaniard finally got a good result under his belt in his Carlin machine after a troubled weekend.

Sainz also made slight inroads into the points lead of team-mate Jazeman Jaafar, who fended off a race-long challenge from Fortec's Hannes van Asseldonk for fourth. Felix Serralles was sixth for Fortec, before a long gap to team-mate Pipo Derani.

Reversed-grid winner Harry Tincknell (Carlin) was forced out after a heavy hit from Double R's Fahmi Ilyas on the opening lap.

Duvashen Padayachee claimed his second National Class win of the day in his Double R Racing Dallara after Spike Goddard (T-Sport) came to grief in an opening-lap collision with Geoff Uhrhane (Double R), who pitted for a new nose section before rejoining.

Results - 30 laps:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car                    Time/Gap
 1.  Jack Harvey           Carlin Dallara-VW         40m11.308s
 2.  Alex Lynn             Fortec Dallara-Merc        + 22.240s
 3.  Carlos Sainz Jr       Carlin Dallara-VW          + 25.408s
 4.  Jazeman Jaafar        Carlin Dallara-VW          + 28.957s
 5.  Hannes van Asseldonk  Fortec Dallara-Merc        + 29.559s
 6.  Felix Serralles       Fortec Dallara-Merc        + 31.728s
 7.  Pipo Derani           Fortec Dallara-Merc        + 59.038s
 8.  Fahmi Ilyas           Double R Dallara-Merc    + 1m02.842s
 9.  Pietro Fantin         Carlin Dallara-VW        + 1m04.453s
10.  Nick McBride          T-Sport Dallara-Nissan   + 1m05.654s
11.  Duvashen Padayachee   Double R Dallara-Mugen*      + 1 lap
12.  Geoff Uhrhane         Double R Dallara-Merc       + 2 laps


     Harry Tincknell       Carlin Dallara-VW              1 lap
     Spike Goddard         T-Sport Dallara-Mugen*         1 lap
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Tincknell claims first win of 2012
Jaafar takes first blood at Rockingham
Sainz among those put to back of grid
Harvey back on form with double pole