Find out more about our subscriptions

Oli Webb gives Sam Schmidt Motorsports team its 50th Indy Lights pole in Detroit

Oliver Webb, DetroitBriton Oliver Webb took pole position for this weekend's Indy Lights race in Detroit.

Webb took the honours with a best time of 1m17.7720s to give the Sam Schmidt Motorsports team its 50th series pole. Tristan Vautier and last weekend's Freedom 100 winner Esteban Guerrieri secured a 1-2-3 for the Schmidt team by claiming the second and third spots on the grid.

Belardi's Alon Day was quickest of the non-Schmidt drivers with the fourth-best time in a session that was cut short by a red flag for a spinning David Ostella at Turn 14.

Among those who were denied a chance to improve their positions was championship contender Sebastian Saavedra (AFS/Andretti Autosport), who will start from 10th.

Pos  Driver              Team          Time       Gap
 1.  Oliver Webb         Schmidt       1m17.7720s
 2.  Tristan Vautier     Schmidt       1m18.1299s  + 0.3579s
 3.  Esteban Guerrieri   Schmidt       1m18.2360s  + 0.4640s
 4.  Alon Day            Belardi       1m18.4200s  + 0.6480s
 5.  Victor Carbone      Schmidt       1m18.4237s  + 0.6517s
 6.  Peter Dempsey       Younessi      1m18.4500s  + 0.6780s
 7.  Gustavo Yacaman     Moore         1m18.8023s  + 1.0303s
 8.  Carlos Munoz        Andretti      1m19.0546s  + 1.2826s
 9.  David Ostella       Moore         1m19.2297s  + 1.4577s
10.  Sebastian Saavedra  AFS/Andretti  1m20.4357s  + 2.6637s
11.  Armaan Ebrahim      Fan Force     1m21.0193s  + 3.2473s
12.  Juan Pablo Garcia   Jeffrey Mark  1m21.1422s  + 3.3702s
13.  Rodin Younessi      Younessi      1m30.4265s  + 12.6545s
14.  Jorge Goncalvez     Belardi
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Yacaman battles to Detroit victory