Spa Formula V8 3.5: Tom Dillmann heads very close qualifying two

Championship leader Tom Dillmann set pole position for the second Formula V8 3.5 race of the weekend at Spa-Francorchamps

The AVF racer finished 0.016 seconds ahead of Lotus driver Roy Nissany, thanks to posting a quickest lap of 1m59.745s at his final opportunity.

"I had one set of new tyres, like everybody, and the first two laps I had yellows. [Giuseppe] Cipriani was off at Pouhon and [Egor] Orudzhev at Brussels," Dillmann explained.

"I had one more lap. It was not a mega lap, but I needed to keep it together otherwise I was going to finish in the 2m02s or something.

"I think it will be a high-downforce set-up today because we are expecting it to be wet; there's a 90 per cent chance of rain at four o'clock."

An outside front row grid position represents Nissany's highest grid position in the category.

The Hungarian-raised Israeli had completed just one lap of Saturday's opening race before retiring with a broken driveshaft.

In a tightly contested session, Arden's third place qualifier Aurelien Panis lapped just 0.071s shy of Dillmann's benchmark.

The Frenchman's team-mate, and Spa race one winner, Orudzhev will line-up from the penultimate position on the grid after coming to a halt on track.

Star of last year's Formula Renault 3.5 Spa meeting, Matthieu Vaxiviere held provisional pole until the chequered flag, but the SMP Racing man was demoted to fourth following a spate of last gasp improvements.

RP Motorsport's Vitor Baptista outshone more experienced team-mate Johnny Cecotto Jr to finish fifth, ahead of Aragon winner Louis Deletraz.

At the conclusion of the used tyre runs at the halfway stage of the session, Alfonso Celis Jr's time of 2m01.301s was sufficient to top the timing screens ahead of Rene Binder.

Celis would maintain his advantage over Binder, but the pair would end the morning in seventh and eighth.

Several drivers have been called to the stewards to explain possible yellow flag infringements, and the qualifying results remain provisional.


Pos Driver Team Time Gap
1 Tom Dillmann AVF 1m59.745s -
2 Roy Nissany Lotus 1m59.761s 0.016s
3 Aurelien Panis Arden Motorsport 1m59.816s 0.071s
4 Matthieu Vaxiviere SMP Racing 2m00.060s 0.315s
5 Vitor Baptista RP Motorsport 2m00.100s 0.355s
6 Louis Deletraz Fortec Motorsports 2m00.161s 0.416s
7 Alfonso Celis AVF 2m00.235s 0.490s
8 Rene Binder Lotus 2m00.253s 0.508s
9 Matevos Isaakyan SMP Racing 2m00.404s 0.659s
10 Pietro Fittipaldi Fortec Motorsports 2m00.454s 0.709s
11 Yu Kanamaru Teo Martin Motorsport 2m00.538s 0.793s
12 Johnny Cecotto Jr. RP Motorsport 2m00.614s 0.869s
13 Beitske Visser Teo Martin Motorsport 2m00.904s 1.159s
14 Egor Orudzhev Arden Motorsport 2m01.709s 1.964s
15 Giuseppe Cipriani Durango Racing Team 2m04.917s 5.172s


Egor Orudzhev fends off Tom Dillmann for Formula V8 3.5 win at Spa

Matthieu Vaxiviere wins eventful Formula V8 3.5 race two at Spa