Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 25 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 25 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Brno MotoGP: Andrea Iannone tops rain-hit second practice

Andrea Iannone, Pramac Ducati, Brno MotoGP 2014

Pramac Ducati's Andrea Iannone topped the second Brno MotoGP practice session by virtue of getting a flying lap in during the tiny period of almost-dry running.

Iannone and Avintia rider Hector Barbera were the only two riders who set times before the drizzle that began with the green light became proper rainfall.

Although the shower did not last, the track never dried out enough for Iannone and Barbera's slick-shod times to be beaten.

Marc Marquez got closest, but his 2m07.846s in third place was 4.667 seconds behind Iannone.

Championship leader Marquez edged out Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa by just 0.002s to take 'wet track' honours, with the pair a second quicker than Valentino Rossi's Yamaha in fifth.

Cal Crutchlow went well in the wet, putting his Ducati sixth ahead of Jorge Lorenzo.

Barbera had the session's only accident, crashing in the final minute, while Iannone had his own trip through the gravel but stayed upright.

With rain a possibility throughout the weekend, everyone went out for a decent amount of wet running rather than hiding in the pits, the whole field completing at least 10 laps each.

Pos Rider             Bike                   Time       Gap     Laps
 1. Andrea Iannone    Pramac Ducati          2m03.179s           12
 2. Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki   2m04.462s  +1.283s  12
 3. Marc Marquez      Honda                  2m07.846s  +4.667s  12
 4. Dani Pedrosa      Honda                  2m07.848s  +4.669s  13
 5. Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                 2m08.827s  +5.648s  12
 6. Cal Crutchlow     Ducati                 2m08.981s  +5.802s  11
 7. Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                 2m09.114s  +5.935s  14
 8. Pol Espargaro     Tech 3 Yamaha          2m09.412s  +6.233s  15
 9. Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha          2m09.722s  +6.543s  15
10. Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda              2m09.747s  +6.568s  13
11. Scott Redding     Gresini Honda          2m09.869s  +6.690s  13
12. Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                 2m10.174s  +6.995s  10
13. Yonny Hernandez   Pramac Ducati          2m10.217s  +7.038s  13
14. Danilo Petrucci   Ioda Aprilia           2m10.264s  +7.085s  12
15. Aleix Espargaro   Forward Yamaha         2m10.556s  +7.377s  14
16. Karel Abraham     Cardion Honda          2m10.668s  +7.489s  12
17. Michele Pirro     Ducati                 2m10.828s  +7.649s  11
18. Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda          2m11.004s  +7.825s  14
19. Hiroshi Aoyama    Aspar Honda            2m11.019s  +7.840s  15
20. Michael Laverty   PBM-Aprilia            2m11.337s  +8.158s  10
21. Broc Parkes       PBM-Aprilia            2m11.741s  +8.562s  10
22. Mike di Meglio    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki   2m12.270s  +9.091s  12
23. Leon Camier       Aspar Honda            2m12.934s  +9.755s  14
24. Alex de Angelis   Forward Yamaha         2m15.514s  +12.335s 13
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Marquez: Defeat eases the pressure
Pedrosa wins as Marquez streak ends
Marquez beats Ducati duo to Brno pole
Pedrosa leads Honda practice one-two
Marquez fastest in first Brno session