Find out more about our subscriptions

Norisring DTM: Tambay, Tomczyk and da Costa get post-race penalties

Adrien Tambay has been handed a post-race penalty for his forceful move on Pascal Wehrlein in the latter stages of the DTM race at the Norisring.

Tambay crossed the line in fourth position for Audi, but only did so after making contact with Mercedes driver Pascal Wehrlein - who had been fourth - at Turn 1 on Lap 68.

The Frenchman was later demoted to ninth thanks to a 30-second penalty, which was added to his race time in lieu of a drive-through.

BMW drivers Martin Tomczyk and Antonio Felix da Costa were also handed post-race penalties. Tonczyk will be forced to take a three-place grid penalty to the next round in Moscow, thanks to contact with Gary Paffett.

Da Costa, meanwhile, was also given a 30-second addition to his race time, for not slowing sufficiently in a yellow flag zone. The penalty made no difference to his 20th place finishing position.

Revised results - 82 laps:                                      
Pos Driver                  Team/Car            Time/Gap
 1. Robert Wickens          HWA Mercedes    1h15m21.118s
 2. Jamie Green             Rosberg Audi        +23.906s
 3. Mattias Ekstrom         Abt Audi            +25.922s
 4. Edoardo Mortara         Abt Audi            +32.875s
 5. Pascal Wehrlein         HWA Mercedes        +44.788s
 6. Marco Wittmann          RMG BMW             +46.050s
 7. Joey Hand               RBM BMW             +47.991s
 8. Mike Rockenfeller       Phoenix Audi        +48.803s
 9. Adrien Tambay           Abt Audi          +1m14.661s
10. Timo Scheider           Phoenix Audi          -1 lap
11. Bruno Spengler          Schnitzer BMW         -1 lap
12. Gary Paffett            HWA Mercedes          -1 lap
13. Daniel Juncadella       Mucke Mercedes        -1 lap
14. Augusto Farfus          RBM BMW               -1 lap
15. Paul di Resta           HWA Mercedes          -1 lap
16. Timo Glock              MTEK BMW             -2 laps
17. Maxime Martin           RMG BMW              -2 laps
18. Nico Muller             Rosberg Audi         -2 laps
19. Vitaly Petrov           Mucke Mercedes       -2 laps
20. Antonio Felix da Costa  MTEK BMW             -2 laps
21. Christian Vietoris      HWA Mercedes         -9 laps
22. Miguel Molina           Abt Audi            -11 laps
    Martin Tomczyk          Schnitzer BMW        58 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Wickens claims second DTM win
Wickens beats di Resta to pole
Mercedes on top at the Norisring