Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Pukekohe V8 Supercars: Van Gisbergen wins, Winterbottom takes lead

Shane van Gisbergen claimed his first win of the 2014 V8 Supercars season in the third race at Pukekohe, while Mark Winterbottom moved into the championship lead.

Polesitter Scott McLaughlin led the early laps of the race before his compatriot picked off Jamie Whincup and then assertively took the lead heading into the hairpin on lap 8 of 35.

Van Gisbergen was never headed for the remainder of the 100-kilometre race and held on to take his first points-paying win of the year, finishing a slender 0.28 seconds ahead of a charging Winterbottom.

The race two winner put McLaughlin under immense pressure and only found a way past the Volvo on lap 26, before setting off to close the 4.3s gap that was present at the time.

McLaughlin completed the podium after fending off Whincup on the final lap, while the reigning champion's Triple Eight team-mate had another anonymous race.

Craig Lowndes started seventh but dropped down the order to finish 10th and relinquished his lead of the championship in the process.

Garth Tander and David Reynolds were embroiled in a race-long battle for fifth, which eventually went in the favour of the 2007 champion by 0.26s.

Results - 35 laps:                                                     
Pos  Driver               Team/Car                  Time/Gap   
 1.  Shane van Gisbergen  Tekno Holden           39m34.1380s          
 2.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford                  +0.2896s            
 3.  Scott McLaughlin     GRM Volvo                 +7.4696s            
 4.  Jamie Whincup        Triple Eight Holden       +7.6686s            
 5.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden               +10.0567s            
 6.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford        +10.3221s            
 7.  Nick Percat          Walkinshaw/HRT Holden    +10.7209s            
 8.  James Moffat         Nissan                   +10.9639s            
 9.  Scott Pye            Dick Johnson Ford        +11.3046s            
10.  Craig Lowndes        Triple Eight Holden      +12.6419s            
11.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden        +13.1575s            
12.  James Courtney       HRT Holden               +13.9175s            
13.  Michael Caruso       Nissan                   +14.2794s            
14.  Russell Ingall       Dumbrell Holden          +19.1035s            
15.  Rick Kelly           Nissan                   +19.9800s            
16.  Chaz Mostert         FPR Ford                 +20.2396s            
17.  Lee Holdsworth       Erebus Mercedes          +20.9616s            
18.  Will Davison         Erebus Mercedes          +21.3870s            
19.  Todd Kelly           Nissan                   +23.7067s            
20.  Dale Wood            Britek/BJR Holden        +32.5274s            
21.  Robert Dahlgren      GRM Volvo                +35.7751s            
22.  Jack Perkins         Schwerkolt/FPR Ford      +38.6265s            
23.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden        +59.5016s            
24.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/HRT Holden     +59.8757s            
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT