Find out more about our subscriptions

Melbourne V8s: Shane van Gisbergen claims F1 support hat-trick

Shane van Gisbergen, Tekno Holden, Melbourne V8 Supercars 2014

Shane van Gisbergen continued his domination of the non-championship V8 Supercars event supporting the Australian Grand Prix with his third win in three races.

The Tekno Autosports Holden driver started from pole position and comfortably held the lead at the start.

Despite a first-lap safety car period, caused by Dale Wood's stricken Holden after it collected Chaz Mostert's spun car at Turn 7, van Gisbergen never looked like being beaten.

Fabian Coulthard was never more than 1.5 seconds behind, but was unable to mount a serious challenge for the lead.

He also came close to losing second place on the final lap to a charging Craig Lowndes, who was close behind as the field picked its way through a light late-race sprinkling of rain.

Lowndes had held second place at the start, but on the first lap after the safety car locked his rear brakes heading into Turn 9 and ran off the track, letting Coulthard past.

He did well to keep the pack, headed by Scott McLaughlin's Volvo S60, at bay after that mistake, and set the fastest lap on his recovery charge.

McLaughlin held off pressure from former V8 Supercars champion Garth Tander to take fourth place.

Jason Bright briefly held the position after climbing from eight on the grid to fourth on the first lap before being passed by McLaughlin and later retiring.

Michael Caruso was the lead Nissan driver in sixth ahead of Jamie Whincup, who held off Mark Winterbottom, with David Reynolds prevailing in a tight battle for ninth ahead of the Kelly brothers.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                  Time/Gap
 1.  Shane van Gisbergen  Tekno Holden           27m53.0754s
 2.  Fabian Coulthard     Brad Jones Holden          +0.500s
 3.  Craig Lowndes        Triple Eight Holden        +0.972s
 4.  Scott McLaughlin     GRM Volvo                  +5.310s
 5.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden                 +5.985s
 6.  Michael Caruso       Nissan                     +6.434s
 7.  Jamie Whincup        Triple Eight Holden        +9.377s
 8.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford                  +10.236s
 9.  David Reynolds       Rod Nash/FPR Ford         +12.465s
10.  Todd Kelly           Nissan                    +12.739s
11.  Rick Kelly           Nissan                    +13.027s
12.  James Moffat         Nissan                    +14.077s
13.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/HRT Holden      +14.413s
14.  Nick Percat          Walkinshaw/HRT Holden     +15.959s
15.  David Wall           Dick Johnson Ford         +16.876s
16.  Jack Perkins         Schwerkolt/FPR Ford       +17.111s
17.  Lee Holdsworth       Erebus Mercedes           +17.630s
18.  Russell Ingall       Dumbrell Holden           +17.905s
19.  Robert Dahlgren      GRM Volvo                 +19.442s
20.  James Courtney       HRT Holden                +26.630s
21.  Will Davison         Erebus Mercedes           +47.922s


     Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden           4 laps
     Scott Pye            Dick Johnson Ford           3 laps
     Chaz Mostart         FPR Ford                    0 laps
     Dale Wood            Britek/BJR Holden           0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
McLaughlin gives Volvo S60 first win
Van Gisbergen doubles up in race two
Van Gisbergen wins Melbourne opener
Caruso puts Nissan on F1 support pole