Find out more about our subscriptions

Aragon MotoGP: Marquez takes charge in second practice

Marc Marquez, Honda, Aragon MotoGP 2013

Marc Marquez took charge in MotoGP's second Friday practice session at Aragon.

After a very close morning battle was won by Yamaha's Jorge Lorenzo, the afternoon session was dominated by Honda.

Lorenzo and title rival Marquez immediately kicked off with their best laps of the day, but the latter's 1m48.987s was 0.418 seconds clear of Lorenzo's quickest effort.

This early-run times would stand as Marquez and Lorenzo's best of the day.

It was sufficient to keep Marquez on top for the rest of the session, but Lorenzo was pushed back to fourth.

First Marquez's works Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa moved up to second, then LCR Honda rider Stefan Bradl put in a great lap to claim the spot, 0.132s slower than Marquez.

With Alvaro Bautista going fifth quickest for Gresini, Lorenzo was the sole Yamaha in a Honda-filled top five.

Bautista set his time on his first run and later had a crash at Turn 8. He was unhurt.

Yamaha riders Cal Crutchlow and Valentino Rossi were back in sixth and seventh, ahead of Ducati pacesetter Andrea Dovizioso and CRT leader Aleix Espargaro.

Pos Rider             Bike                       Time        Gap     Laps
 1. Marc Marquez      Honda                      1m48.987s            17
 2. Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda                  1m49.119s  +0.132s   18
 3. Dani Pedrosa      Honda                      1m49.254s  +0.267s   19
 4. Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                     1m49.405s  +0.418s   17
 5. Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda              1m49.763s  +0.776s   14
 6. Cal Crutchlow     Tech 3 Yamaha              1m49.840s  +0.853s   18
 7. Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                     1m49.909s  +0.922s   16
 8. Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                     1m50.034s  +1.047s   17
 9. Aleix Espargaro   Aspar Aprilia              1m50.055s  +1.068s   15
10. Nicky Hayden      Ducati                     1m50.446s  +1.459s   17
11. Andrea Iannone    Pramac Ducati              1m50.727s  +1.740s   18
12. Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki       1m50.913s  +1.926s   16
13. Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha              1m50.944s  +1.957s   18
14. Yonny Hernandez   Pramac Ducati              1m51.345s  +2.358s   17
15. Claudio Corti     Forward FTR-Kawasaki       1m51.461s  +2.474s   17
16. Randy de Puniet   Aspar Aprilia              1m51.699s  +2.712s   16
17. Colin Edwards     Forward FTR-Kawasaki       1m52.020s  +3.033s   18
18. Danilo Petrucci   Ioda-Suter-BMW             1m52.121s  +3.134s   18
19. Hiroshi Aoyama    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki       1m52.227s  +3.240s   14
20. Michael Laverty   PBM-Aprilia                1m53.220s  +4.233s   14
21. Luca Scassa       Cardion Aprilia            1m53.338s  +4.351s   17
22. Bryan Staring     Gresini FTR-Honda          1m53.557s  +4.570s   14
23. Lukas Pesek       Ioda-Suter-BMW             1m54.793s  +5.806s   15
24. Damien Cudlin     PBM-Aprilia                1m55.343s  +6.356s   16

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Marquez contact caused Pedrosa crash
Pedrosa escapes injury in accident
Marquez beats Lorenzo at Aragon
Marquez secures third consecutive pole
Rossi sets pace in third practice
Lorenzo frustrated after Aragon practice
Lorenzo edges Marquez in first practice