Lowndes Fastest in Qualifying

Craig Lowndes set the fastest lap of the weekend so far to be fastest in qualifying for Sunday's Super Cheap Auto 1000 at Mount Panorama, Bathurst

Lowndes Fastest in Qualifying

1996 Bathurst winner Lowndes continued his run at the top of the times by setting a 2:07.1322 to be fastest going into tomorrow's shootout which will decide the top ten grid positions for Sunday's race. Lowndes is well placed to break the manufacturer's victory drought at the track, with Ford taking its last win at Bathurst in 1998.

Second fastest was four-times Bathurst victor Mark Skaife in a Holden, followed by reigning series champ Marcos Ambrose in his Ford. Fourth fastest was 2000 Bathurst winner Garth Tander in a car he will be sharing with 2003 and 2004 Bathurst winner Rick Kelly, while fifth fastest is Kelly's co-driver for those two wins, Greg Murphy, in a Holden.

The remainder of the top ten is completed by Steven Richards, Jason Richards, Russell Ingall, Glenn Seton and Jim Richards, with a sprinkling of race wins in that group - two wins for Steven Richards and Ingall, and six for Steven's father Jim.

A couple of teams have been disappointing, with Steve Ellery in the sister car to Lowndes back in 16th, nearly two seconds off the pace. Even more disappointing is the car of John Bowe and Brad Jones, down in 26th place, 3.3 seconds off the pace after being regular front runners in recent years.

Qualifying, Super Cheap Auto 1000, Mount Panorama, Bathurst, Australia:

Pos Driver Car Time 1. Craig Lowndes/Yvan Muller Ford Falcon BA 2:07.1322 2. Mark Skaife/Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VZ 2:07.5333 3. Marcos Ambrose/Warren Luff Ford Falcon BA 2:07.7357 4. Garth Tander/Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VZ 2:07.7622 5. Greg Murphy/Paul Weel Holden Commodore VZ 2:07.8709 6. Steven Richards/Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VY 2:07.9291 7. Jason Richards/Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VZ 2:08.1325 8. Russell Ingall/Luke Youlden Ford Falcon BA 2:08.2643 9. Glenn Seton/Dean Canto Ford Falcon BA 2:08.3326 10. Jim Richards/James Courtney Holden Commodore VZ 2:08.4261 11. Cameron McConville/Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VZ 2:08.7164 12. Jason Bright/David Brabham Ford Falcon BA 2:08.7959 13. Greg Ritter/Cameron McLean Ford Falcon BA 2:08.8407 14. Steve Owen/Matthew White Ford Falcon BA 2:08.9035 15. Steven Johnson/Will Davison Ford Falcon BA 2:08.9187 16. Steve Ellery/Adam Macrow Ford Falcon BA 2:08.9688 17. Jason Bargwanna/Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon BA 2:08.9762 18. Max Wilson/Tony Longhurst Holden Commodore VZ 2:09.1330 19. David Besnard/Craig Baird Ford Falcon BA 2:09.1772 20. Paul Morris/Paul Radisich Holden Commodore VZ 2:09.2243 21. Mark Noske/Tim Leahey Holden Commodore VZ 2:09.3515 22. Alain Menu/Matthew Halliday Ford Falcon BA 2:09.6180 23. Alex Davison/Allan Simonsen Holden Commodore VZ 2:09.7065 24. Anthony Tratt/Tony Evangelou Holden Commodore VY 2:09.9967 25. Tony D'Alberto/Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VZ 2:10.3515 26. John Bowe/Brad Jones Ford Falcon BA 2:10.4709 27. Alan Gurr/John Faulkner Holden Commodore VZ 2:10.5187 28. Lee Holdsworth/Philip Scifleet Holden Commodore VZ 2:10.6179 29. John Cleland/Dale Brede Ford Falcon BA 2:10.7695 30. Mark Porter/Kayne Scott Holden Commodore VZ 2:11.3887 31. Christian D'Agostin/Matthew Coleman Holden Commodore VY 2:11.4367 32. Jose Fernandez/Damien White Ford Falcon BA 2:13.8347 33. Owen Kelly/Mathan Pretty Holden Commodore VZ 2:18.8718 Marcus Marshall/Alex Tagliani Ford Falcon BA - 
Stoddart to Back V8 Supercar Team
Previous article

Stoddart to Back V8 Supercar Team

Next article

Lowndes Leads Ford Front Row

Lowndes Leads Ford Front Row
When Nissan ruled Australia with its 'Godzilla' Group A special Plus

When Nissan ruled Australia with its 'Godzilla' Group A special

The Nissan Skyline R32 GT-R was the fastest Group A touring car ever. It cleaned up at the Bathurst 1000 and in the Australian Touring Car Championship, and is fondly remembered by the drivers who monstered it to success on the world-famous Mount Panorama

Feb 8, 2022
Ranking the top 10 Supercars drivers of 2021 Plus

Ranking the top 10 Supercars drivers of 2021

It may have been a one-man title fight in Supercars this season, but behind dominant champion Shane van Gisbergen were some fascinating performances. Autosport picks out the best drivers of the 2021 campaign.

Dec 10, 2021
The well-travelled racer now Supercars' elder statesman Plus

The well-travelled racer now Supercars' elder statesman

James Courtney has been around the block in his motorsport career it's fair to say. After a single-seater career cut short, he's won everything there is to win in Supercars. Following a rocky ride recently in the Australian category, he's found a happy hunting ground with Tickford Racing, as Andrew van Leeuwen explains

Oct 19, 2021
How taming his temper shaped Supercars' slow-burn star Plus

How taming his temper shaped Supercars' slow-burn star

His decision to leave Brad Jones Racing was the biggest shock of the Australian Supercars silly season so far. But for Nick Percat, it comes as the culmination of a personal journey that has made him into one of the most rounded drivers in the series, now in search of a seat that can make him a champion

Sep 16, 2021
Why replacing Supercars' GOAT with a teenager is worth the risk for T8 Plus

Why replacing Supercars' GOAT with a teenager is worth the risk for T8

On the face of it, picking an 18-year-old rookie to replace arguably the greatest Supercars driver of all time is a risky move. But as Jamie Whincup takes up a team principal role and hands his car to Broc Feeney, it's one that he is confident will be rewarded in the fullness of time - time which wasn't afforded to Whincup in his early days

Aug 31, 2021
Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske? Plus

Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske?

OPINION: Roger Penske's operation helped lift Dick Johnson's faltering Ford team back to the top of Australian tin-tops. But, despite The Captain's departure, along with star driver Scott McLaughlin, there's no reason to expect an imminent decline from DJR

Feb 26, 2021
Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble Plus

Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble

Supercars' most successful team of the past 15 years is set for a radical shakeup next year when Jamie Whincup retires from driving and takes over the reins at Triple Eight. But the team's outgoing boss Roland Dane has full faith that he'll be up to the task

Feb 5, 2021
The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020 Plus

The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020

In a year of few constants, the Australian Supercars championship could be relied upon for its usual blend of rough and tumble racing with a V8 soundtrack. But who were its top performers in 2020?

Dec 27, 2020