Ingall Takes Race 2

Russell Ingall won race two to take the overall round win and his first podium finish at Oran Park Raceway

Ingall Takes Race 2

Ingall fought and beat his teammate Marcos Ambrose after Ambrose took a spell in the lead, to strengthen his fight for this year's title. Race one winner Steven Richards struggled, finishing the race in eleventh after looking set for a top five finish. A second third place finish for Greg Murphy saw him finish third overall for the round behind Ingall and Ambrose.

Ingall's round win moved him into second place in the standings 106 point behind his teammate Ambrose, 17 points ahead of Richards who dropped from second to third. Craig Lowndes jumped ahead of the Holden Racing Team duo of Mark Skaife and Todd Kelly who both had poor days.

The start saw Ingall lead ahead of Richards, with Ambrose making a good start to challenge Richards, eventually taking second early in the lap with Murphy and Rick Kelly next. However the safety car was about to make an appearance after Mark's Skaife bad day got worse when he was sent flying into the gravel after contact.

The race restarted on lap five, with most of the front runners pitting for tyres soon after, apart from Ingall. With clear road, and pace on his side, Ambrose put in a series of quick laps in an attempt to take the lead from his teammate Ingall when he pitted.

When Ingall pitted he came out a few seconds behind Ambrose, but he was closing down the margin when the safety car came out on lap 27 when Jason Richards got stuck in the gravel.

Racing resumed on lap 30, with Ambrose leading Ingall, Murphy, Lowndes and Richards. Ingall was now all over his teammate and race leader Ambrose, and after a few tentative moves, took the lead on lap 36.

From there Ingall drove away to the chequered flag, Ambrose holding a comfortable second as Murphy took third just ahead of Lowndes. However, Richards struggled in the second half of the race, falling from fifth at the restart to end the race in eleventh, as Tander recovered from damage in race one to finish fifth in race two.

Result of Race Two, Oran Park Raceway:

Pos Driver Car 1. Russell Ingall Ford Falcon BA 2. Marcos Ambrose Ford Falcon BA 3. Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VZ 4. Craig Lowndes Ford Falcon BA 5. Garth Tander Holden Commodore VZ 6. Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VZ 7. Jason Bright Ford Falcon BA 8. Cameron McConville Holden Commodore VZ 9. Paul Radisich Holden Commodore VZ 10. Max Wilson Holden Commodore VZ 11. Steven Richards Holden Commodore VY 12. Jason Bargwanna Ford Falcon BA 13. Glenn Seton Ford Falcon BA 14. Paul Weel Holden Commodore VZ 15. Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VZ 16. David Besnard Ford Falcon BA 17. Simon Wills Holden Commodore VZ 18. Paul Morris Holden Commodore VZ 19. John Bowe Ford Falcon BA 20. Brad Jones Ford Falcon BA 21. Anthony Tratt Holden Commodore VY 22. Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VZ 23. Alex Davison Holden Commodore VZ 24. Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VY 25. Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VZ 26. Steve Owen Ford Falcon BA 27. Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon BA 28. Jason Richards Holden Commodore VZ 29. Greg Ritter Ford Falcon BA 30. Mark Skaife Holden Commodore VZ 31. Steven Johnson Ford Falcon BA DNF Matthew White Ford Falcon BA DNF Craig Baird Ford Falcon BA 
Richards Wins Race 1

Previous article

Richards Wins Race 1

Next article

Todd Kelly Re-Signs for HRT

Todd Kelly Re-Signs for HRT
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars
Author David Wright
Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske? Plus

Can DJR still be a Supercars powerhouse after Penske?

OPINION: Roger Penske's operation helped lift Dick Johnson's faltering Ford team back to the top of Australian tin-tops. But, despite The Captain's departure, along with star driver Scott McLaughlin, there's no reason to expect an imminent decline from DJR

Feb 26, 2021
Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble Plus

Why Whincup's next move is no calculated gamble

Supercars' most successful team of the past 15 years is set for a radical shakeup next year when Jamie Whincup retires from driving and takes over the reins at Triple Eight. But the team's outgoing boss Roland Dane has full faith that he'll be up to the task

Feb 5, 2021
The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020 Plus

The top 10 Supercars drivers of 2020

In a year of few constants, the Australian Supercars championship could be relied upon for its usual blend of rough and tumble racing with a V8 soundtrack. But who were its top performers in 2020?

Dec 27, 2020
The 'lifetime deal' that broke down in double quick time Plus

The 'lifetime deal' that broke down in double quick time

Last year, David Reynolds signed a decade-long deal with Erebus, seemingly pledging his long-term Supercars future to the team. One year on, "Decade Dave's" contract has been reduced to tatters, with an undercurrent of discontent having brewed in 2020

Dec 18, 2020
How Supercars now needs a new "human salt harvester" Plus

How Supercars now needs a new "human salt harvester"

Scott McLaughlin has been a divisive figure in Supercars over the past few years but, as he heads off to a fresh challenge in IndyCar, the Australian tin-top series needs to find someone else to fill his dramatic boots as the category enters a new era

Oct 30, 2020
Why McLaughlin is wrong to label 2020 his best title Plus

Why McLaughlin is wrong to label 2020 his best title

OPINION: Scott McLaughlin was quick to describe his third Supercars title as his best yet. But even though it didn't match the dramatic backstory of his 2018 triumph, there's a good reason for him wanting to control the narrative this time around

Oct 2, 2020
Why Supercars would settle for an anticlimactic title race Plus

Why Supercars would settle for an anticlimactic title race

It's a predicament that has faced the World Endurance Championship in the past, and now it's the turn of Supercars to have its biggest race - the Bathurst 1000 - taking the final slot on the calendar. Will its wider significance upstage the title battle?

Sep 4, 2020
The 10-year wait for a Supercars champion halted by coronavirus Plus

The 10-year wait for a Supercars champion halted by coronavirus

When the Supercars season resumes James Courtney will be a Tickford Racing driver - but it's not the first time the star driver has flirted with the famous Ford squad

May 18, 2020