Brno MotoGP: Cal Crutchlow quickest in final practice

Cal Crutchlow topped the third MotoGP free practice session at Brno on Saturday morning

The Tech 3 rider had spent the majority of the session on the fringes of the top three as fellow Yamaha man Jorge Lorenzo led the way with a time of 1m56.322s, which remained quickest until the final few minutes.

Having endured a couple of unwanted slides, Crutchlow opted to run with a harder front tyre for the final half of the session and went on to post the quickest overall time of 1m56.156s shortly before the chequered flag fell.

The session was a fairly muted affair, with little change in the order as Lorenzo's time was good enough for second quickest while current championship leader Marc Marquez made improvements on yesterday to go third fastest.

Valentino Rossi was fourth quickest, ahead of Dani Pedrosa and Alvaro Bautista.

Friday pacesetter Stefan Bradl could not repeat his form from yesterday and was eighth quickest.

Andrea Iannone suffered the ignominy of being the only rider to crash out in the session. He low-slided while following Rossi into Turn 5 as he tried to post the 10th fastest time.

Pos  Rider             Team/Bike             Time       Gap      
 1.  Cal Crutchlow     Tech 3 Yamaha         1m56.156s
 2.  Jorge Lorenzo     Yamaha                1m56.322s  +0.166s
 3.  Marc Marquez      Honda                 1m56.366s  +0.210s
 4.  Valentino Rossi   Yamaha                1m56.486s  +0.330s
 5.  Dani Pedrosa      Honda                 1m56.642s  +0.486s
 6.  Alvaro Bautista   Gresini Honda         1m56.921s  +0.765s
 7.  Bradley Smith     Tech 3 Yamaha         1m56.956s  +0.800s
 8.  Stefan Bradl      LCR Honda             1m57.055s  +0.899s
 9.  Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati                1m57.196s  +1.040s
10.  Nicky Hayden      Ducati                1m57.542s  +1.386s
11.  Andrea Iannone    Pramac Ducati         1m57.862s  +1.706s
12.  Aleix Espargaro   Aspar Aprilia         1m58.210s  +2.054s
13.  Hector Barbera    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  1m58.374s  +2.218s
14.  Colin Edwards     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  1m58.821s  +2.665s
15.  Claudio Corti     Forward FTR-Kawasaki  1m58.846s  +2.690s
16.  Yonny Hernandez   PBM Aprilia           1m58.873s  +2.717s
17.  Hiroshi Aoyama    Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  1m58.896s  +2.740s
18.  Michele Pirro     Pramac Ducati         1m59.148s  +2.992s
19.  Randy de Puniet   Aspar Aprilia         1m59.294s  +3.138s
20.  Danilo Petrucci   Ioda-Suter-BMW        1m59.754s  +3.598s
21.  Karel Abraham     Cardion Aprilia       2m00.401s  +4.245s
22.  Martin Bauer      Remus Aprilia         2m00.721s  +4.565s
23.  Bryan Staring     Gresini FTR-Honda     2m01.206s  +5.050s
24.  Michael Laverty   PBM-Aprilia           2m01.337s  +5.181s
25.  Lukas Pesek       Ioda-Suter-BMW        2m01.339s  +5.183s
Previous article Brno MotoGP: Stefan Bradl sets surprise fastest time in FP2
Next article Brno MotoGP: Cal Crutchlow claims pole with record lap