125cc: Terol dominates Brno 125cc race

Nico Terol took a crushing victory on a drying track in the Brno 125cc race

125cc: Terol dominates Brno 125cc race

The first half of the track was extremely wet as the race began, but the warm temperatures meant it dried very quickly.

Terol picked his way past early leader Efren Vazquez on the second lap and proceeded to charge away from the field. Despite his dominant pace, the Aspar Aprilia rider was still managing to keep his wet tyres intact on what was soon a totally dry track, and he came home to win by 20 seconds in his first race back since his Barcelona injury.

Vazquez and Pol Espargaro battled for second for most of the distance, until the former crashed on the penultimate lap, which allowed Esteve Rabat onto the podium - once again filled entirely by Spaniards.

Jonas Folger fended off local hero Jakub Kornfeil for fourth. Polesitter Bradley Smith faded in the race and chased them home, while championship leader Marc Marquez - racing with a dislocated shoulder - ran second initially before being eased back to seventh.

The majority of riders stayed on wets all race. Johann Zarco was the only frontrunner to gamble on a pitstop and was 5-10s faster than his rivals once on slicks, but having already lost a lap to the leaders, he had no chance of salvaging a good result.

Pos Rider Bike Time/Gap 1. Nicolas Terol Aprilia 43m49.303s 2. Pol Espargaro Derbi + 20.351s 3. Esteve Rabat Aprilia + 20.555s 4. Jonas Folger Aprilia + 29.529s 5. Jakub Kornfeil Aprilia + 29.914s 6. Bradley Smith Aprilia + 29.986s 7. Marc Marquez Derbi + 31.405s 8. Jasper Iwema Aprilia + 32.973s 9. Tomoyoshi Koyama Aprilia + 41.842s 10. Luis Salom Aprilia + 46.128s 11. Adrian Martin Aprilia + 46.759s 12. Alberto Moncayo Aprilia + 47.630s 13. Marcel Schrotter Honda + 50.657s 14. Louis Rossi Aprilia + 50.728s 15. Zulfahmi Khairuddin Aprilia + 55.490s 16. Sandro Cortese Derbi + 1m00.902s 17. Randy Krummenache Aprilia + 1m02.374s 18. Alessandro Tonucci Aprilia + 1m30.736s 19. Johann Zarco Aprilia + 1m50.616s 20. Sturla Fagerhaug Aprilia + 1m53.811s 21. Marco Ravaioli Lambretta + 1m54.419s 22. Isaac Vinales Lambretta + 1m54.710s 23. Luca Marconi Aprilia + 2m03.252s Retirements: Efren Vazquez Derbi 17 laps Simone Grotzkyj Aprilia 13 laps Ladislav Chmelik Honda 11 laps Lorenzo Savadori Aprilia 10 laps Luigi Morciano Aprilia 8 laps Alexis Masbou Aprilia 1 laps Danny Webb Aprilia 0 laps 
125cc: Moto3 to replace 125cc from 2012

Previous article

125cc: Moto3 to replace 125cc from 2012

Next article

125cc: Marquez takes another 125cc pole

125cc: Marquez takes another 125cc pole
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto3
Author Matt Beer