125cc: Marquez extends winning streak

Marc Marquez took his third consecutive 125cc race win at Assen and made the title race a three-way fight between himself and compatriots Nico Terol and Pol Espargaro

125cc: Marquez extends winning streak

It is Terol who now leads the points having finished second today. The Aspar Aprilia rider stalked Marquez (Ajo Derbi) relentlessly in the first three quarters of the race and looked set to strike in the closing stages.

But Marquez was able to make a break when Jerry van de Bunt got in the way while being lapped by the leaders and then side-swiped Terol and crashed. That immediately gave Marquez a two-second cushion and he proceeded to cruise to victory.

Espargaro was swamped off the line and although he swiftly clawed his way back up to third, Marquez and Terol were already out of reach. He pulled clear of Bradley Smith to secure the final podium spot - a big early battle in this group having faded after Esteve Rabat and Efren Vazquez had separate large crashes.

Sandro Cortese was a lonely fifth, with sixth and seventh placed Randy Krummenacher and Danny Webb escaping from a huge gaggle of bikes in another dice that fizzled out as the race progressed.

Pos Rider Bike Time/Gap 1. Marc Marquez Derbi 37m48.923s 2. Nicolas Terol Aprilia + 2.332s 3. Pol Espargaro Derbi + 8.134s 4. Bradley Smith Aprilia + 9.636s 5. Sandro Cortese Derbi + 36.961s 6. Randy Krummenacher Aprilia + 39.091s 7. Danny Webb Aprilia + 39.397s 8. Luis Salom Aprilia + 45.010s 9. Simone Grotzki Giorgi Aprilia + 45.672s 10. Jonas Folger Aprilia + 48.031s 11. Alberto Moncayo Aprilia + 48.457s 12. Johann Zarco Aprilia + 48.833s 13. Jasper Iwema Aprilia + 54.208s 14. Tomoyoshi Koyama Aprilia + 59.055s 15. Jakub Kornfeil Aprilia + 1m01.504s 16. Adrian Martin Aprilia + 1m16.069s 17. Sturla Fagerhaug Aprilia + 1m16.175s 18. Marcel Schrotter Honda + 1m18.029s 19. Louis Rossi Aprilia + 1m21.738s 20. Toni Finsterbusch KTM + 1m36.263s 21. Michael van der Mark Lambretta + 1m36.445s 22. Muhammad Zulfahmi Aprilia + 1m40.681s 23. Pepijn Bijsterbosch Honda + 1 lap 24. Ernst Dubbink Honda + 1 lap Retirements: Alexis Masbou Aprilia 20 laps Jerry van de Bunt Honda 16 laps Roy Pouw Aprilia 14 laps Marco Ravaioli Lambretta 11 laps Luca Marconi Aprilia 8 laps Esteve Rabat Aprilia 4 laps Efren Vazquez Derbi 3 laps Lorenzo Savadori Aprilia 0 laps 
125cc: Marquez takes fourth pole of 2010

Previous article

125cc: Marquez takes fourth pole of 2010

Next article

125cc: Marquez on pole again at home

125cc: Marquez on pole again at home
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto3
Author Matt Beer