MotoGP San Marino GP: Full Moto2 and Moto3 results

Alonso Lopez dominated the Moto2 class at the MotoGP San Marino Grand Prix for a maiden victory as Dennis Foggia delighted his home support in Moto3.

MotoGP San Marino GP: Full Moto2 and Moto3 results

The 23-lap Moto3 race was a dramatic affair that saw home favourite Dennis Foggia on the Leopard Honda, Ajo KTM’s Jaume Masia, championship leader Izan Guevara and Tech3 KTM’s Deniz Oncu battle for victory.

All four riders took turns leading the grand prix, with Foggia emerging as the victor at Misano by 0.298 seconds after the battle behind gave him crucial breathing space on the last lap.

Masia lunged on Guevara into Turn 8 on the last tour and made the move stick, defending hard to the chequered flag to claim second ahead of Guevara.

Guevara’s Aspar team-mate Sergio Garcia was knocked off track at Turn 1 on the opening lap before crashing with 14 tours remaining.

That has given Guevara an 11-point lead in the standings, with Foggia re-igniting his title hopes as that victory brings him 35 points behind Guevara.

Poleman Oncu was fourth ahead of Ajo KTM’s Daniel Holgado, with Leopard’s Tatsuki Suzuki, MT Helmets KTM’s Diogo Moreira, MTA KTM’s Ivan Ortola, Max Racing Husqvarna’s John McPhee and the sister MTA bike of Stefano Nepa rounding out the top 10.

Moto3 results

Cla Rider Bike Time Gap Interval
1 Italy Dennis Foggia Honda -    
2 Spain Jaume Masia KTM 0.289 0.289 0.289
3 Spain Izan Guevara GASGAS 0.334 0.334 0.045
4 Turkey Deniz Öncü KTM 0.453 0.453 0.119
5 Spain Daniel Holgado KTM 4.955 4.955 4.502
6 Japan Tatsuki Suzuki Honda 5.926 5.926 0.971
7 Brazil Diogo Moreira KTM 11.002 11.002 5.076
8 Spain Iván Ortolá Díez KTM 11.188 11.188 0.186
9 United Kingdom John McPhee Husqvarna 11.383 11.383 0.195
10 Italy Stefano Nepa KTM 11.494 11.494 0.111
11 Italy Riccardo Rossi Honda 11.560 11.560 0.066
12 David Muñoz KTM 11.633 11.633 0.073
13 Japan Ryusei Yamanaka KTM 11.885 11.885 0.252
14 Joel Kelso KTM 16.963 16.963 5.078
15 Elia Bartolini KTM 19.888 19.888 2.925
16 Mexico Adrian Fernandez KTM 20.528 20.528 0.640
17 Italy Alberto Surra Honda 20.728 20.728 0.200
18 France Lorenzo Fellon Honda 20.805 20.805 0.077
19 Japan Kaito Toba KTM 23.619 23.619 2.814
20 Spain Xavier Artigas CF MOTO 25.556 25.556 1.937
21 Japan Taiyo Furusato Honda 35.326 35.326 9.770
22 Spain Ana Carrasco KTM 49.990 49.990 14.664
23 Harrison Voight Honda 52.184 52.184 2.194
24 United Kingdom Joshua Whatley Honda 56.428 56.428 4.244
25 United Kingdom Scott Ogden Honda 1'04.838 1 Lap 1 Lap
  Spain Carlos Tatay CF MOTO      
  Indonesia Mario Suryo Aji Honda      
  Italy Andrea Migno Honda      
  Japan Ayumu Sasaki Husqvarna      
  Italy Nicola Fabio KTM      
  Spain Sergio García GASGAS      
Alonso Lopez, +Ego Speed Up

Alonso Lopez, +Ego Speed Up

Photo by: Gold and Goose / Motorsport Images

Lopez grabbed the Moto2 lead from poleman Celestino Vietti off the line and would never be knocked from top spot across the entire 25 laps.

It marks the Speed Up rookie’s first ever visit to the Moto2 podium.

He beat Pons’ Aron Canet, who eased away from Aspar’s Albert Arenas following a brief battle to tally up yet another podium.

Augusto Fernandez secured the final sport on the rostrum on his Ajo machine to take a four-point lead in the championship over Honda Team Asia’s Ai Ogura.

Fernandez – who has been linked to a MotoGP move in 2023 with Tech3 – beat Arenas to deny the Aspar rider a maiden class podium, with Ogura taking the chequered flag in fifth.

Pedro Acosta was sixth on the sister Ajo bike ahead of Marc VDS’ Tony Arbolino, with Honda Team Asia’s Somkiat Chantra, Italtrans’ Joe Roberts and Intact GP’s Jeremy Alcoba rounding out the top 10.

Vietti crashed out of the podium battle early on, as did VR46 team-mate Niccolo Antonelli.

Moto2 results

Cla Rider Bike Time Gap Interval
1 Spain Alonso López Boscoscuro B-21 -    
2 Spain Arón Canet Kalex 1.253 1.253 1.253
3 Spain Augusto Fernandez Kalex 3.305 3.305 2.052
4 Spain Albert Arenas Kalex 4.615 4.615 1.310
5 Japan Ai Ogura Kalex 9.166 9.166 4.551
6 Spain Pedro Acosta Kalex 10.339 10.339 1.173
7 Italy Tony Arbolino Kalex 10.434 10.434 0.095
8 Thailand Somkiat Chantra Kalex 12.377 12.377 1.943
9 United States Joe Roberts Kalex 18.242 18.242 5.865
10 Spain Jeremy Alcoba Kalex 19.560 19.560 1.318
11 Germany Marcel Schrotter Kalex 27.896 27.896 8.336
12 Netherlands Bo Bendsneyder Kalex 28.452 28.452 0.556
13 Belgium Barry Baltus Kalex 30.991 30.991 2.539
14 United States Cameron Beaubier Kalex 38.371 38.371 7.380
15 Italy Alessandro Zaccone Kalex 41.690 41.690 3.319
16 Spain Marcos Ramirez MV Agusta 42.209 42.209 0.519
17 Japan Taiga Hada Kalex 1'09.174 1'09.174 26.965
  United States Sean Dylan Kelly Kalex      
  Italy Celestino Vietti Ramus Kalex      
  Italy Mattia Pasini Kalex      
  Italy Niccolo Antonelli Kalex      
  Italy Simone Corsi MV Agusta      
  Netherlands Zonta van den Goorbergh Kalex      
  Spain Fermin Aldeguer Boscoscuro B-21      
  Italy Lorenzo Dalla Porta Kalex      
  Australia Senna Agius Kalex      
270 Spain Jorge Navarro Kalex      
  Czech Republic Filip Salač Kalex      
  United Kingdom Jake Dixon Kalex      
  Spain Manuel Gonzalez Kalex      
  Keminth Kubo Kalex      
MotoGP Austrian GP: Full Moto2 and Moto3 race results
Previous article

MotoGP Austrian GP: Full Moto2 and Moto3 race results

Next article

MotoGP Aragon GP: Full Moto2 and Moto3 results

MotoGP Aragon GP: Full Moto2 and Moto3 results