Vettel takes Nurburgring pole

Sebastian Vettel has taken pole position ahead of this afternoon's World Series race at the Nurburgring, the man from Heppenheim delighting his home crowd

Vettel takes Nurburgring pole

On a strong showing by Carlin Motorsport, Vettel's teammate Mikhail Aleshin topped the slower B qualifying group and will start on the outside of the front row.

As the only man to break into the 1 minute 42 seconds, Vettel was surprised by his performance.

"I didn't expect to be setting those sorts of times," he said. "It was a little colder than practice yesterday and took two or three laps to really get the tyres working.

"At the moment I haven't made a plan for the race, a lot will depend on how the first corner goes as it's, how shall we say, 'tricky' with 30 cars slowing down to 60km/h."

Ben Hanley put in late effort to overhaul Alvaro Parente for second position in the A group, the Briton just a tenth shy of Vettel's time.

Both groups enjoyed clean sessions, bereft of incidents.

Milos Pavlovic was the first to the track in the B group, but it was Cram's Fairuz Fauzy who set the early running. Pavlovic and his Draco teammate, Seville's Alvaro Barba, held down second and third positions.

With six minutes of the session remaining Giedo van der Garde briefly went to the top, before there was a sudden flurry of activity. Davide Valsecchi moved into second place, only for the chasing Pavlovic to immediately displace him.

Moments later Aleshin set his fastest time of 1:43.511, which would prove unbeatable.

"I'm very happy, not just because I think we will have good speed for the race, but also in that I have only used one set of tyres," said Aleshin. The four points earned move Aleshin ahead of Alvaro Parente into a slender championship lead.

Barba, who had shone in the pre-season Nurburgring test, moved into second place in the group, after completing his lap seconds before the chequered flag.

On his final run, an opportunity to improve further was denied when compatriot Celso Miguez hit trouble out on track. Barba will start fourth.

In group A, Vettel was initially challenged by Alvaro Parente. The Portuguese had exchanged the second fastest time with Hanley before he usurped Vettel by just five hundredths of a second with six of the twenty minute session to go.

Parente's reign ended as Vettel and Hanley bumped the Tech 1 driver down to third in the dying stages.

"It was nip-and-tuck," said Ben. "Throughout the session we had been p2 and p3, but on my first lap I had a yellow flag and on the second I found some traffic.

"On that last lap I actually locked the wheel into the first corner which cost me a tiny bit of time, but I am really looking forward to the race."

Pos  Driver Team Time 1. Sebastian Vettel Carlin Motorsport 1:42.984 2. Michael Aleshin Carlin Motorsport 1:43.511 + 0.527 3. Ben Hanley Prema Powerteam 1:43.063 + 0.079 4. Alvaro Barba International Draco Racing 1:43.547 + 0.563 5. Alvaro Parente Tech 1 Racing 1:43.323 + 0.339 6. Clivio Piccione RC Motorsport 1:43.852 + 0.868 7. Filipe Albuquerque Epsilon Euskadi 1:43.685 + 0.701 8. Marco Bonanomi RC Motorsport 1:43.999 + 1.015 9. Julien Jousse Tech 1 Racing 1:44.094 + 1.110 10. Davide Valsecchi Epsilon Euskadi 1:44.081 + 1.097 11. Guillaume Moreau KTR 1:44.178 + 1.194 12. Fairuz Fauzy Cram Competition 1:44.112 + 1.128 13. Salvador Duran 1:44.230 + 1.246 14. Giedo van der Garde Victory Engineering 1:44.143 + 1.159 15. Alejandro Nunez Red Devil Team Comtec 1:44.267 + 1.283 16. James Walker Fortec Motorsport 1:44.172 + 1.188 17. Charlie Kimball Victory Engineering 1:44.511 + 1.527 18. Milos Pavlovic International Draco Racing 1:44.244 + 1.260 19. Pasquale di Sabatino GD Racing 1:44.911 + 1.927 20. Miguel Molina Pons Racing 1:44.386 + 1.402 21. Michael Herck Red Devil Team Comtec 1:45.207 + 2.223 22. Yelmer Buurman Fortec Motorsport 1:44.460 + 1.476 23. Daniil Move 1:45.411 + 2.427 24. Ricardo Risatti GD Racing 1:44.493 + 1.509 25. Pippa Mann Cram Competition 1:45.763 + 2.779 26. Bertrand Baguette KTR 1:44.501 + 1.517 27. Alessandro Ciompi Eurointernational 1:45.959 + 2.975 28. Carlos Iaconelli Pons Racing 1:44.524 + 1.540 29. Xavier Maassen Prema Powerteam 1:46.322 + 3.338 30. Celso Miguez Eurointernational 1:45.220 + 2.236 

Van Lagen and Philippe replaced

Previous article

Van Lagen and Philippe replaced

Next article

Vettel scores home win

Vettel scores home win
Load comments
How the post-Renault 3.5 series is shaping up Plus

How the post-Renault 3.5 series is shaping up

When Renault ended its support of its 3.5 Formula, there were fears about the category's future. But as PETER MILLS explains, the rebadged FV8 3.5 series has retained an appeal to drivers

Formula V8 3.5
Feb 3, 2016
The all-time FR3.5 top 10 Plus

The all-time FR3.5 top 10

An era ended in 2015 as Renault withdrew its backing of Formula Renault 3.5. GLENN FREEMAN and PETER MILLS pick the 10 best drivers from the World Series by Renault years

Formula V8 3.5
Jan 8, 2016
The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2015 Plus

The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2015

The 2015 Formula Renault 3.5 season will be notable for being the last with the French company's backing but also produced a worthy champion in Oliver Rowland. PETER MILLS evaluates this year's crop of drivers

Formula V8 3.5
Nov 17, 2015
Renault's ladder to Formula 1 Plus

Renault's ladder to Formula 1

Since 2005 the World Series by Renault package has launched a host of young stars on the path to Formula 1. But there's much more to the events, both on and off the track

Formula V8 3.5
Aug 13, 2015
The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2014 Plus

The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2014

The field was perhaps not as strong as in the previous season, but Carlos Sainz Jr emerged as a worthy Formula Renault 3.5 champion. GLENN FREEMAN rates the top 2014 drivers

Formula V8 3.5
Nov 11, 2014
The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2013 Plus

The top 10 FR3.5 drivers of 2013

There were some standout performances in the Formula Renault 3.5 title race this year, but one racer stood above all the others. GLENN FREEMAN looks back and picks out his top 10 drivers

Formula V8 3.5
Nov 15, 2013
The 2013 Formula Renault 3.5 grid guide Plus

The 2013 Formula Renault 3.5 grid guide

Last year's field was extraordinary and hard to match, but the Formula Renault 3.5 grid will still have plenty of talent this season. Glenn Freeman runs through the field ahead of this weekend's season opener

Formula V8 3.5
Apr 4, 2013
Vandoorne: future McLaren F1 star? Plus

Vandoorne: future McLaren F1 star?

Landing the Fortec seat that took rising star Robin Frijns to the 2012 FR3.5 title was already a good sign for Stoffel Vandoorne. Then McLaren took him under its wing. Peter Mills tells Vandoorne's story so far

Formula V8 3.5
Feb 20, 2013