Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Autosport Plus

Discover premium content
Practice report
Formula E Mexico City ePrix

Mexico City E-Prix: Wehrlein heads FP2 after Dennis lap deleted

Pascal Wehrlein headed the second Mexico City E-Prix free practice session by 0.004s over two-time Formula E champion Jean-Eric Vergne, after Jake Dennis had his headliner deleted for track limits.

Pascal Wehrlein, Porsche, Porsche 99X Electric Gen3

A lairy end to the session resulted in a number of changes at the top of the timing sheets but, once the music stopped, Wehrlein ended the session with a 1m13.496s on a cold morning at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez.

The session began just after sunrise in Mexico City, with early trepidation from the drivers as they waited for the track conditions to come to them.

That preceded a flurry of more competitive times, with Dan Ticktum the first to break into the 1m15s with a 1m15.514s.

Sam Bird then produced a yellow flag in the Foro Sol complex with an electronics issue, but was able to complete a full reset to bring his Jaguar back to the pitlane.

Antonio Felix da Costa put his Porsche on top with a 1m15.231s, followed by Oliver Rowland as the Mahindra driver atoned for his Friday practice crash to go up to second.

The times then continued to fall, and Pascal Wehrlein overcame his new Porsche team-mate with a 1m14.427s, and then raised the bar with a 1m13.987s.

Jake Dennis, Andretti Autosport, Porsche 99 X Electric Gen3

Jake Dennis, Andretti Autosport, Porsche 99 X Electric Gen3

Photo by: Andrew Ferraro / Motorsport Images

Rookie Jake Hughes then found a 1m13.658s to get clear of Wehrlein's headliner, continuing to impress in his first Formula E sessions, as Andretti's Jake Dennis got within 0.035s of his namesake to go second fastest ahead of the halfway point of FP2.

Edoardo Mortara clipped the wall with the rear of his car at the Peraltada while on a hot lap, breaking his left-rear suspension in a near carbon copy of Rene Rast's incident on Friday.

With fewer than five minutes on the clock, Mitch Evans ended Hughes' lengthy stranglehold over the session with a 1m13.548s, but the Kiwi's tenure at the top was considerably shorter as Sergio Sette Camara pasted his NIO 333 to the top of the timing boards with a 1m13.506s.

Ticktum would have dispatched his team-mate after setting the best first and third sectors, but an iffy middle portion of the lap put paid to those chances.

Wehrlein then edged Sette Camara by 0.010s as the session drew to a close to go top, and although Dennis fired in a 1m13.137s at the flag to claim top spot over the Porsche driver, the Briton's lap was chalked off for track limits.

Vergne split the already-tiny gap between Wehrlein and Sette Camara to grab second on the timing boards, continuing to show impressive pace on board the DS Penske.

Evans was fourth to give Jaguar hope after a difficult session, ahead of reigning champion Stoffel Vandoorne, while Hughes and Dennis collected sixth and seventh.

Sebastien Buemi placed his Envision in eighth, clear of da Costa by 0.026s, while Mahindra's Lucas di Grassi completed the top 10.

Mortara only placed 19th after his visit to the outer Peraltada wall, while Bird got out at the end of the session for a cursory run after spending much of the half-hour practice waylaid in the pits - but propped up the timing boards.

Mexico City E-Prix - FP2 results:

Cla Driver Team Time Gap
1 Germany Pascal Wehrlein Germany Porsche Team 1'13.496  
2 France Jean-Eric Vergne DS Penske 1'13.500 0.004
3 Brazil Sergio Sette Camara NIO 333 Racing 1'13.506 0.010
4 New Zealand Mitch Evans United Kingdom Jaguar Racing 1'13.548 0.052
5 Belgium Stoffel Vandoorne DS Penske 1'13.611 0.115
6 United Kingdom Jake Hughes NEOM McLaren Formula E Team 1'13.615 0.119
7 United Kingdom Jake Dennis United States Andretti Autosport 1'13.632 0.136
8 Switzerland Sébastien Buemi United Kingdom Virgin Racing 1'13.684 0.188
9 Portugal Antonio Felix da Costa Germany Porsche Team 1'13.710 0.214
10 Brazil Lucas di Grassi India Mahindra Racing 1'13.717 0.221
11 United Kingdom Dan Ticktum NIO 333 Racing 1'13.780 0.284
12 France Norman Nato Nissan Formula E Team 1'13.795 0.299
13 New Zealand Nick Cassidy United Kingdom Virgin Racing 1'13.932 0.436
14 France Sacha Fenestraz Nissan Formula E Team 1'14.004 0.508
15 Germany Andre Lotterer United States Andretti Autosport 1'14.166 0.670
16 Germany Maximilian Gunther Maserati MSG Racing 1'14.268 0.772
17 Germany René Rast NEOM McLaren Formula E Team 1'14.361 0.865
18 United Kingdom Oliver Rowland India Mahindra Racing 1'14.538 1.042
19 Switzerland Edoardo Mortara Maserati MSG Racing 1'14.641 1.145
20 Switzerland Nico Müller ABT CUPRA Formula E Team 1'15.378 1.882
21 Netherlands Robin Frijns ABT CUPRA Formula E Team 1'15.526 2.030
22 United Kingdom Sam Bird United Kingdom Jaguar Racing 1'19.855 6.359

Be part of the Autosport community

Join the conversation
Previous article Vergne: "Half-truth" Valencia testing still showed DS Penske can contend
Next article Cassidy "most underprepared on grid" for Mexico Formula E opener

Top Comments

There are no comments at the moment. Would you like to write one?

Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Autosport Plus

Discover premium content